MenuFamily chronicle of Nikolaus Severin Joseph Schunck, 1869-1939. text, no JavaScript Log in   Deze pagina in het Nederlands Diese Seite auf DeutschThis page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
Originaltxt dieser Chronik, erste Seite

⇒ This page of the manuscript in full size



Severin Joseph Schunck


Agnes Herné

In the following I want to register a family chronicle and a description of my life, which might be interesting and should be preserved as a lasting memory of any family events and of my bygone youth time:

On 27 March of the year 1869 I was born in Kettenis (Today this village belongs to Eupen, the capital of the German speaking part of Belgium) as the first son of the married couple Severin Joseph Schunck and Barbara Agnes Herné.
My father is the son of the married couple of Nic. Severin Jos. Schunck and Maria Katharina Kroppenberg, who lived and died in Kettenis, and my mother is the daughter of the married couple Peter Jos. Herné and Barbara Schins who lived in the hamlet Stockem near Eupen. Of my grandparents I only knew the latter (my godmother), since the others already deceased before my birth.

Grandparents Schunck had a hand weaving mill, a wool laundry and a small farm and grandparents Herné in Kettenis had a farm and carpenter’s workshop in Stockem.



House called “On the Alleyway”, Kettenis

On the Talstrasse (An der Gasse = On the Alleyway) in Kettenis. When this picture was taken, in the left part (N°17) was the shop of Albert Kroppenberg, a relative of Maria Katharina Kroppenberg (but how?). Later here was the barber shop Buchem. Right (N°15) the house Schunck, built for more than one family. Behind it was the weaving mill.
Dorfzeitung Kettenis



Heinrich Schunck

When my parents married, on 10 June 1868, my father obtained the house called "on the lane" by partition of the inheritance. They settled there and rented a neighboring house, which was assigned to him too. In the same way he also took over the hand weaving mill, operated in the same house, to ensure their earnings.
He took over work for other weavers and operated even with several journeymen.

When I was hardly one year old I was heavily injured at my right hand. I hardly could do my first steps when in an unguarded instant I fell on the hot stove, so that the skin of my hand stuck to the furnace. The injury did not want to heal at all and my parents had many troubles with it, until in the end it healed with steinoel (= petroleum). As a souvenir of this incident I have got a large scar at the right hand, which also is a bit smaller than the left one.
On 28 January 1871 I got a little brother, who was baptized with the name Heinrich. In the first years my parents went through much illness with him, since Heinrich was a very weak child.



Maria Schunck


Fina Schunck

The first sister joined us on March 26th, 1873. and is called Maria, then on March 20th 1875 still another sister came with the name Josefine. Now it was already my job to carry the little sisters around and to replace a nanny a little bit. Heinrich and I also went walking sometimes together at the hand with others in the lane and meadow. During this time I spent much time with my grandmother in Stockem, whom I liked very much, since she always had a great deal sweets for children. Uncle Heinrich in Stockem teased me that they would have cows and we not, on which I said that on the other hand we had a Jansens goat and a Doume meadow. That was my childlike innocence, that I believed everything which belonged to our neighbours would be ours.



Joseph Schunck

In the year 1874 on a summer day my brother Heinrich and I and some other children went into a neighbouring meadow to pick flowers. In this meadow, now “Weling meadow”, there was a muddy pool. Its banks were surrounded by wild rose bushes, full of roses. Our Heinrich, a special friend of roses, wanted to pick a rose there, lost his balance and fell head first into the water. An older boy from our neighbourhood saved my brother from the sure death of drowning. This boy was the son Josef of the verger Ganser. The latter lived with us to the rent at that time. I was a bit off the mud hole in the meadow and just saw how Heinrich, totally covered with mud and half-dead, was brought to our mother. Soon Heinrich came back to consciousness again and kept an strong cold from it.
In the year of 1877 on March 31st, the stork brought us a little brother again: Josef.

About this time the hand weaving trade began to slow down. Everywhere mechanical looms were set up and so the profession of hand weaving was more and more superseded. My parents, who depended totally of it with their existence, were not bedded on roses indeed. Many times a week my father traveled to Aachen, however without getting work. Those were sad times.
In the year of 1878 my parents built the house near the church. That’s to say: uncle Herné built it instead of giving cash from grandmother’s inheritance.



Luise Schunck


Leo Schunck

On 11 March of the year 1879 we got the third sister with name Luise and on 1 January 1882 the 7th child with name Hubert Leo.
As of the spring of the year 1875 I visited the elementary school in Kettenis and Mr. Gerhards was my first teacher. Then Mr. Göttingen followed, Mr. Brüll and finally Mr. Longhaye as teachers. Chaplain Schmitz gave the religious instruction. The latter engaged me already in the earliest youth as a server. I practised this position still beyond the school years in the local church and once each week on the “Upper Heath”. Me and my brother Heinrich also were active as tenors in the mixed choir which existed at that time under the direction of Mr. Longhaye. At that time attendance of school was differently ordered than today. One could receive a certificate from the local school inspector and pastor, Mr. Wieland, that the parents had a very urgent need for the son’s or the daughter’s help. Then one gave this certificate to the teacher and stayed away from school according to that permission. Of course I stayed away from school several days a week because my parents had a lot of work for me to do.



Fam. Schunck-Deneffe

On Buß- und Bettag (Penance and Praying Day) of the year 1882 I went to the First Holy Communion in our church in Kettenis. This was a very solemn ceremony, which I like to remember in my whole life. As a partner for the Communion I selected Johann Kohl from Libermé, who then was my friend for a while. On the Communion Days we went alternating to each other and amused ourselves with shooting birds, doing gymnastics etc.. Then also Augst Wertz and Christian Rosskanp, Josef Cormann and our Heinrich joined us. Oftimes we went to Wertz in Merols, who had a heavy horse in the meadow, to learn the equitation over there.
There once a accident almost occurred to us. The heavy horse ran down our Heinrich and kicked him into his back, so that the horseshoe was drawn on his cardigan. He however didn’t even suffer a contusion of it, but he stood up and did not know what happened. Thus for the second time he was saved from a mishap.
Since I’m speaking of Heinrich anyhow, I still want to mention how, like by a miracle, he did not become a involuntary murderer. As a boy of about 14 years old, Heinrich visited Nic. Jos. Hausmann, who was our tenant, in his apartment. Curious as he was he drew up a drawer of a cabinet and saw a gun in it. He asked Hausmann whether he would allow him to have a look at the gun.
“Yes,” he said, “just take it, it’s not loaded.” But scarcely had he had it in his hands when the shot went off and the bullit went through Hausmann’s beard. I don’t need to mention that both were chalk-white. For many years both of them concealed this occurrence.
One Sunday also a nice thing happened to us. We were 4 lads of 12 to 14 years old. We made a trip with Wertz’ horse to Reinartzhof near Roetgen, where some relatives of Wertz lived. The 2 hours way was a forest road and we alternating rode the horse, while the others walked. Once, when it was my turn again (but I hadn’t yet mounted) Caspar Wertz ran with the empty horse a little distance. There the heavy horse suddenly sunk up to its belly into a sump. Now we were in a fix, because the animal’s legs were completely fixed in the mud. After long work and with the help of wood storing there the animal suddeny came out with a single jump. Now we had to carry the saddle until we would have cleaned the horse, that was covered with dirt, with fern in the Weser creek. Then we could continue our original sport.

 
This is all, I translated until now. If you can read German, click on next



 



Nikolaus und Greta Schunck

Taken during the pow how of the Belgian Schuncks in Kettenis on august 21, 2011.

MenuFamilienchronik von Nikolaus Severin Joseph Schunck, 1869-1939. text, no JavaScript Log in   Deze pagina in het Nederlands Diese Seite auf DeutschThis page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
Originaltxt dieser Chronik, erste Seite

⇒ Diese Seite des Manuskripts in ihrer ganzen Größe



Severin Joseph Schunck


Agnes Herné

Im Nachfolgenden will ich eine Familienchronik und Beschreibung über mein vergangenes Leben niederlegen, welche als bleibende Erinnerung an etwaige Familienereignisse und an meine Verflossene Jugendzeit aufbewahrt und nicht ganz uninteressant sein dürfte:

Am 27. März des Jahres 1869 wurde ich zu Kettenis als erster Sohn der Eheleute Severin Joseph Schunck und Barbara Agnes Herné geboren.
Mein Vater ist der Sohn der zu Kettenis gelebt und gestorbenen Eheleute Nic. Severin Jos. Schunck und Maria Katharina Kroppenberg und meine Mutter ist die Tochter der zu Stockem bei Eupen verlebten Eheleute Peter Jos. Herné und Barbara Schins. Von meinen Großeltern habe ich nur die letztgenannte (meine Patin) gekannt, da die andern schon vor meiner Geburt verstorben sind.

Die Großeltern Schunck hatten in Kettenis eine Handweberei, Wollwäscherei und kleinen landwietschaftlichen Betrieb und die Großeltern Herné betrieben Landwietschaft und Schreinerei in Stockem.



Haus „an der Gasse“ in Kettenis

An der Talstraße in Kettenis. Als dieses Foto entstand, war im linken Teil (N°17) das Geschäft von Albert Kroppenberg, ein Verwandter der Maria Katharina Kroppenberg (aber wie?). Später war hier das Friseurgeschäft Buchem. Rechts (N°15) das Haus Schunck, im Grunde ein Mehrfamilienhaus. Dahinter war die Weberei.
Dorfzeitung Kettenis



Heinrich Schunck

Bei der Verheiratung meiner Eltern am 10. Juni 1868 erhielt mein Vater das ihm durch (Erb-)Teilung zugefallene Haus genannt „an der Gasse“, welches er selbst bezog und noch ein Nebenhaus, das er vermietete. Desgleichen übernahm er auch die im selbigen Hause betriebene Handweberei welche ihm als Lebensunterhalt dienen sollte.
Er übernahm Arbeit für auswärtige Weber und arbeitete selbst mit mehreren Gesellen.

Als ich kaum ein Jahr alt war erhielt ich eine schwere Verletzung an der rechten Hand. In diesem Jahr konnte ich kaum die ersten Schritte gehen und fiel in einem unbewachten Augenblick auf den glühend heißen Herd, sodaß die Haut der Hand am Ofen kleben blieb. Die Verletzung wollte gar nicht heilen und hat meinen Eltern viel Mühe gemacht, bis sie endlich mit Steinöl (= Petroleum) geheilt wurde. Als Andenken an diesen Vorfall habe ich eine große Narbe an der rechten Hand und der Ballen der letzteren ist etwas kleiner, als die der linken Hand.
Am 28. Januar 1871 erhielt ich ein Brüderchen, welches mit dem Namen Heinrich benannt wurde. Meine Eltern haben mit diesem Kinde in den ersten Jahren viel Krankheit durchgemacht, da Heinrich ein sehr schwächliches Kind war.



Maria Schunck


Fina Schunck

Die erste Schwester gesellte sich zu uns am 26. März 1873. und heißt Maria, sodann am 20. März 1875 noch eine Schwester mit dem Namen Josefine. Jetzt war es schon meine Sache die kleinen Schwestern zu tragen und teilweise ein Kindermädchen zu ersetzen. Auch gingen Heinrich und ich schon mal zusammen an der Hand mit andern in der Gasse und Wiese spazieren. Um diese Zeit verkehrte ich aber viel mit meiner Großmutter in Stockem, welche mir sehr lieb und teuer war, da sie immer allerhand Leckereien fürs Kind hatte. Daher diese Anziehungskraft. Der Onkel Heinrich in Stockem zänkte mich, daß sie Kühe hätten und wir nicht, worauf ich dem gesagt habe, dass wir aber eine Jansens Ziege und eine Doume Wiese hatten. Das war die kindliche Einfalt, daß ich glaubte alles was unseren Nachbarn gehörte, wäre von uns.



Joseph Schunck

Im Jahre 1874 an einem Sommertage gingen mein Bruder Heinrich und ich mit noch anderen Kindern in eine benachbarte Wiese um Blumen zu plücken. In dieser Wiese, jetzt „Welingsche Wiese“, war ein Wasserpfuhl dessen Ufer mit wilden Rosensträuchern umsetzt waren, welche voller Rosen hingen. Unser Heinrich, ein besonderer Rosenfreund, wollte dort eine Rose pflücken, bekam das Übergewicht und stürzte kopfüber ins Wasser. Ein älterer Knabe aus unserer Nachbarschaft rettete meinen Bruder vom sicheren Tode des Ertrinkens. Dieser Knabe war der Sohn „Josef“ vom Küster Ganser. Letzterer wohnte damals bei uns zur Miete. Ich war etwas von dem Pfuhl entfernt in der Wiese und sah nur wie Heinrich über und über mit Schlamm bedeckt halbtodt zur Mutter gebracht wurde. Heinr. kam wieder bald zu sich und kam mit einem tüchtigen Schnupfen davon.
Im Jahre 1877 am 31. März brachte der Storch uns wieder ein Brüderchen ins Haus und zwar den Josef.

Um diese Zeit fing schon die Handweberei an zu erlahmen. Überall wurden mechanische Webstühle aufgestellt und so die Handweberei immer mehr verdrängt. Meine Eltern welche nur mit ihrer Existenz davon abhingen waren wahrlich nicht auf Rosen gebettet. Mein Vater reiste oftmals in der Woche nach Aachen jedoch ohne Arbeit zu erhalten. Das waren traurige Zeiten.
Im Jahre 1878 erbauten meine Eltern das Haus nach der Kirche zu. Der Onkel Herné erbaute dasselbe anstatt Geld herzugeben vom Erbteile der Mutter.



Luise Schunck


Leo Schunck

Am 11. März des Jahres 1879 erhielten wir die dritte Schwester mit Namen Luise und am ersten Januar 1882 das 7. Kind mit Namen Hubert Leo.
Im Frühjahr des Jahres 1875 ging ich in Kettenis in die Elementar Schule und Herr Gerhards war mein erster Lehrer. Sodann folgten die Herren Göttingen, Brüll und schließlich Longhaye als Lehrer. Den Religionsunterricht erteilte Herr Kaplan Schmitz. Dieser nahm mich schon in frühester Jugend als Messediener an, welches Amt ich noch bis über die Schulzeit hinaus teilweise hier in der Kirche und einmal jede Woche auf der Oberen Heide versah. Auch in dem damals unter der Leitung des Herrn Longhaye bestehenden gemischten Chor war ich und auch mein Bruder Heinr. als Tenor tätig. In Bezug auf den Besuch der Schule war es damals anders bestellt als heute. Man konnte von dem damaligen Ortsschulinspektor Herrn Pfarrer Wieland eine Bescheinigung erhalten, daß die Eltern den Sohn oder die Tochter dringend zur Hilfe haben müßten. Man gab diese Zettel sodann der Lehrperson und blieb der Erlaubnis entsprechend dem Schulunterrichte fern. Ich blieb natürlich die halbe Woche aus der Schule da meine Eltern viel Arbeit für mich hatten.



Fam. Schunck-Deneffe

Am Buß- und Bettage des Jahres 1882 ging ich zur Ersten hl. Kommunion in unserer Kirche in Kettenis. Dies war eine sehr erhebende Feier, an die man sich im Leben gerne erinnert. Als Kommunionspaar hatte ich den Johann Kohl zu Libermé gewählt, welcher sodann eine zeitlang mein Freund war. An den Kommuniontagen gingen wir abwechselnd zueinander und vermachten uns an Vogelschießen, Turnen etc. Zu uns gesellte sich dann noch Augst Wertz und Christian Roßkanp, Josef Cormann und unser Heinrich als Freunde. Jetzt gingen wir öfters hin zu Wertz in Merols, welche ein schweres Pferd hatten um dort in der Wiese die Reitkunst zu erlernen.
Dort passierte uns mal beinahe ein Unglück. Unser Heinrich wurde von dem schweren Pferde umgerannt und in den Rücken getreten, sodaß das Hufeisen auf seinem Rock abgezeichnet war. Er hatte aber nicht mal eine Quetschung davon getragen, sondern stand auf und wusste nicht wie ihm geschehen. So wurde er zum zweiten Male von einem Unglücksfalle errettet.
Da ich doch gerade von Heinrich spreche, will ich noch erwähnen wie er wie durch ein Wunder nicht zum unfreiwilligen Mörder wurde. Heinrich besuchte als zirka 14-jähriger Bursche den bei uns zur Miete wohnenden Nic. Jos. Hausmann in seiner Wohnung. Neugierig wie er war zog er eine Schublade eines Schrankes auf und sah darin einen Revolver liegen. Er fragte den Hausmann ob er den Revolver mal besehen könnte. Ja, sagte dieser, nimm ihn nur, er ist nicht geladen. Aber kaum hatte er ihn in Händen, da kracht der Schuss los und die Kugel ging dem Hausmann durch den Bart. Dass beide kreideweiß waren braucht nicht erwähnt zu werden. Dieses Vorkommnis haben beide Jahrelang verschwiegen.
Eines Sonntags passierte uns auch mal ein schönes Stückchen. Unser 4 Burschen im Alter von 12 bis 14 Jahren machten mit dem Pferde von Wertz eine Reise nach Reinartzhof bei Rötgen woselbst von Wertz Familie wohnte. Der 2 Stunden weite Weg dorthin führte nur durch den Wald und es wurde von uns abwechselnd auf dem Pferde geritten, während die andern dahin liefen. Als wieder die Reihe an mich gekommen war (ich war jedoch noch nicht aufgestiegen) lief Caspar Wertz mit dem leeren Pferde eine Strecke weit. Da fällt das schwere Pferd plötzlich bis an den Leib in einen Sumpf. Da war guter Rat teuer, denn das Tier hatte alle vier Beine fest im Koth stecken und konnte nicht mehr heraus. Nach langer Arbeit und Zuhülfenahme von dort lagerndem Holz kam das Tier mit einem Satz wieder heraus. Jetzt mußten wir den Sattel selbst tragen bis wir das über und über mit Schmutz bedeckte Pferd in der Weser mit Farenkraut gereinigt hatten. Sodann konnten wir unseren originellen Sport fortsetzen.

Fortsetzung



 



Nikolaus und Greta Schunck

Aufgenommen beim Familientreffen Schunck in Kettenis am 21. August 2011