MenuJan Willem (Giel) BERIX text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in EnglishCette page en Français

Jan Willem (Giel) BERIX

Jan Willem Berix (nl.wikipedia)
Source of the text below: http://www.4en5mei.nl/herinneren/oorlogsmonumenten/monumenten_zoeken/oorlogsmonument/1340


 Giel Berix

After his priestly studies in Roermond and Rolduc Jan Willem Berix was chaplain in the St.Pancratius parish in Heerlen. In World War II he joined the resistance. His resistance name was Giel. He became district leader of the L.O. (National Organization for assistance to hiding people).
More information on the resistance work of Giel Berix.

In March 1944, seven leaders of the L.O. were arrested by treachery in Weert. Berix was one of them. With his fellow resistance fighters Jac Naus, Guus Hermans, Theo van Helvoort, Jacques Knops, Sef Mulders, Jan Hendrickx and Joe Russell. he was transported to the concentration camp of Vught, where he was subjected to heavy interrogation by Schut, a member of the SD. Schut tortured him so horribly that his boss Nitsch (himself notorious in that respect) admonished him. But the chaplain kept his mouth closed. His inmates were seriously concerned about the chaplain, because of his already weak health. Berix kept short sermons in his cell from a chair that was first put on a table, by the air duct through the building serving as a sound box. He did so every day, no matter how bad he might be after an interrogation.

On September 6, 1944 a chaplain Berix and eighty to one hundred other prisoners were pushed into a cattle waggon with destination Sachsenhausen near Oranienburg near Berlin. There he was employed in the Heinkel aircraft factory. With his companions, he prayed for a return back home soon. Like many others Berix became infected with dysentery. He was taken to the infirmary and restored initially. But he returned to the camp as a broken man. In mid-October 1944, he was separated from the others and transported to Bergen-Belsen (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bergen-Belsen_concentration_camp). Berix landed in barracks that were dirty and neglected and were full of vermin. After a few days chaplain Berix died (believed to be) on March 13, 1945.

Monument


 Giel Berix

The monument in Meers (municipality Stein) was constructed in memory of the chaplain J.W. Berix who was active in the resistance. It also commemorates thirteen residents of the town Stein who were killed by acts of war during the years of occupation.

Description

Shape and material
The monument for chaplain J.W. Berix in Meers (municipality of Stein) is a bust of bronze. It is placed on a columnar base of bright and black bricks. In front of it is lying a black granite plaque. The statue is 85 centimeters high, 50 centimeters wide and 30 centimeters deep. The base is 1 meter 15 tall, 60 centimeters wide and 42 centimeters deep.

The text on the pedestal reads:

NOBODY HAS
GREATER LOVE
THEN HE WHO GIVES
HIS LIFE
FOR HIS
FRIENDS
JOAN.15-13

Restoration
The plaque was renewed in 1967.

Sources

For more information
Small Monuments in the Municipality of Stein by Hub Spronkmans & Gerrit Lemmens (Publisher Spaan Elsloo, 1995).

Construction
The construction was initiated by former resistance fighters. The bust is financed by the municipality of Stein. The land on which the monument is made available by Rijkswaterstaat.

Design: Charles Vos, Implementation: Sillen en Co.

Unveiling
The monument was unveiled on September 2, 1956 by Mayor Corten.

MenuJan Willem (Giel) BERIX text, no JavaScript Log in   Deze pagina in het Nederlands Diese Seite auf DeutschThis page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück

Jan Willem (Giel) BERIX

Jan Willem Berix (nl.wikipedia)
Quelle des unten stehenden Textes: http://www.4en5mei.nl/herinneren/oorlogsmonumenten/monumenten_zoeken/oorlogsmonument/1340


 Giel Berix

Jan Willem Berix nach seiner Priesterstudium in Roermond und Rolduckerstraat Kaplan in der Pfarre St. Pancratius in Heerlen. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg trat er in den Widerstand ein. Sein Widerstandsname war Giel. Er wurde Distriktsleiter der L.O. (Nationale Organisation für die Hilfe an Untertaucher).
Mehr Informationen über die Widerstandsarbeit von Giel Berix.

Im März 1944 wurden sieben Führer der L.O. durch Verrat in Weert verhaftet. Berix war einer von ihnen. Mit seinen Widerstandskollegen Jac Naus, Guus Hermans, Theo van Helvoort, Jacques Knops, Sef Mulders, Jan Hendrickx und Joe Russel wurde er nach Vught abgeführt, wo er von Schut, einem Mitglied des SD, schweren Verhören unterworfen wurde. Schut misshandelte ihn so schrecklich, dass sein Chef Nitsch (selbst berüchtigt in dieser Hinsicht) ihn ermahnte. Aber der Kaplan schwieg. Seine Mitgefangenen machten sich ernsthafte Sorgen über den Kaplan wegen seiner ohnehin schwachen Gesundheit. In seiner Zelle hielt Berix kurze Predigten auf einem Stuhl, der zunächst auf einen Tisch gestellt wurde, durch den Luftkanal, der durch das Gebäude lief und als Klangkörper diente. Das tat er jeden Tag, egal wie schlecht es ihm nach einem Verhör auch ging.

Am 6. September 1944 wurden ein Kaplan Berix und achtzig bis hundert andere Gefangenen in einen Viehwaggon geschoben mit als Ziel Sachsenhausen bei Oranienburg bei Berlin (http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/KZ_Sachsenhausen). Dort wurde er in dem Heinkel-Flugzeugwerk beschäftigt. Mit seinen Gefährten betete er für eine baldige Heimreise. Wie viele anderen wurde Berix mit Ruhr infiziert. Er wurde in der Krankenstation aufgenommen und zunächst wieder hergestellt. Aber er kam zurück ins Lager als ein gebrochener Mann. Mitte Oktober 1944 wurde er von den anderen getrennt und nach Bergen-Belsen transportiert (http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bergen-Belsen). Berix landete in Baracken, die schmutzig und vernachlässigt waren und voller Ungeziefer. Nach ein paar Tagen starb Kaplan Berix (vermutlich) am 13. März 1945.

Denkmal


 Giel Berix

Das Denkmal für J.W. Berix in Meers (Gemeinde Stein) Kaplan wurde errichtet in Erinnerung an den Kaplan, der aktiv im Widerstand war. Es erinnert auch an dreizehn Bewohner von Stein, die durch Kriegshandlungen während der Besatzungsjahre getötet wurden.

Beschreibung

Form und Material
Das Denkmal für Kaplan J.W. Berix in Meers (Gemeinde Stein) ist eine Bronzebüste. Sie steht auf einem säulenförmigen Sockel aus hellen und schwarzen Backsteinen. Davor liegt eine Tafel aus schwarzem Granit. Die Statue ist 85 Zentimeter hoch, 50 Zentimeter breit und 30 Zentimeter tief. Der Sockel ist 1 Meter 15 hoch, 60 Zentimeter breit und 42 Zentimeter tief

Der Text auf dem Sockel lautet:

NIEMAND HAT
GRÖSSERE LIEBE
ALS WER SEIN
LEBEN GIBT
FÜR SEINE
FREUNDE
JOAN.15-13.

Restaurierung
Die Gedenktafel wurde im Jahre 1967 erneuert..

Quellen

Weitere Informationen:
Kleine Monumenten in de Gemeente Stein (Kleine Denkmäler in der Gemeinde Stein) von Hub Spronkmans & Gerrit Lemmens (Verlag: Spaan Elsloo, 1995).

Bau:
Die Errichtung wurde von ehemaligen Widerstandskämpfern begonnen. Die Büste ist von der Gemeinde Stein finanziert. Das Grundstück, auf dem das Denkmal steht, ist von Rijkswaterstaat zur Verfügung gestellt worden.

Entwurf: Charles Vos, Ausführung: Sillen en Co.

Enthüllung
Das Denkmal wurde am 2. September 1956 von Bürgermeister Corten enthüllt.