police
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
 

police

People who played a role during WW2 in and around Valkenburg. Most of them appear in the resistance story about Valkenburg. In that case, click on More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg next to that name.
This list is far from being complete.


Former police station of Valkenburg

† ✡ † Jews Holocaust Allied soldiers USA RAF NL sold Verzet initial resistance L.O. K.P. municipality local contacts couriers occasional resistance Gr. Smit people in hiding Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen police priests NSB / NSDAP


Before the war, the Dutch police consisted of the military police unit called marechaussee, the rijksveldwacht (national police) and the gemeenteveldwacht (municipal police). On July 5, 1940, the German occupiers merged those three forces under the name of marechaussee. After World War II, they were split again into the Korps Rijkspolitie (National Police Force, replacing the old rijksveldwacht and gemeenteveldwacht) and the Royal Marechaussee, which regained military status. (Dutch Wikipedia).
Each one of the police officers on this list shows, which attitudes towards the occupier were possible.4 pers.
Franssen,
Jan
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
police - Valkenburg - survivor - Jan Franssen was chief of the Marechaussee (later Rijkspolitie) in Valkenburg. On June 7th, 1946 he wrote a report on occupation and liberation at the request of the mayor, Piet Hens. Jan Diederen quotes from this in  …

More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
This person also appears on the list of fallen resistance members in the resistance memorial on the Cauberg
Rennes / Renesse, van
Godert
∗ 0000-00-00
Heteren
† 1903-02-16
police - Valkenburg - NSB - survivor - On the genealogy page of the Van Rennes family we read that both forms of the surname occur. Renesse however is the old version.
Before the war the Netherlands was very heavily …

More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Roy, van
Hubertus Andreas
∗ 1893-03-09
Nederweert
† 1981-11-24
Valkenburg
early resistance - police - Valkenburg - survivor - Veldwachter (local policeman appointed by the municipality) in Valkenburg until december 1941. Was a member of the early resistance group around J.Smit in Heerlen. The earliest data on this group are from the end of 1940 and early 1941. Smit, a professional soldier demobilized in July 1940, …

This person also appears on the list of fallen resistance members in the resistance memorial on the Cauberg
https://www.openarch.nl/hvr:3b910fc2-32d7-151f-96c6-bcd15090b0b6/de
https://www.landvanherle.nl/editie/2019/2019-3.pdf
Ven, op de
Johannes Hendrikus
∗ 1919-02-23
Swalmen
† 1948-06-20
Maastricht
occasional resistance - police - Valkenburg - person in hiding - survivor - On the night of June 22, 1944, together with Den Haring, an NSB member, he was on guard at the Valkenburg distribution office. Was initiated into the plot. Afterwards went into hiding to deduce the suspicion from Freysen et al.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
This person also appears on the list of fallen resistance members in the resistance memorial on the Cauberg
http://www.de-veiligheidsregio.nl/juli-2015/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2015/07/Juni-Tuinvanbezinning.pdf
https://www.wiewaswie.nl/nl/zoeken/?q=Wilhelmus%20Agathus%20Petrus%20Freysen&advancedsearch=1

Polizei
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Polizei

Menschen die während des Zweiten Weltkrieges in und rund Valkenburg eine Rolle gespielt haben. Die meisten kommen in der Widerstandsgeschichte unserer Stadt vor. Klicken Sie in diesem Fall bei diesem Namen auf Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg.
Diese Liste ist alles andere als komplett.


Ehemalige Polizeiwache Valkenburg

† ✡ † Jüd*innen Holocaust Alliierte Soldaten. USA RAF NL sold Verzet früher Widerstand L.O. K.P. Gemeinde Taucherchefs Kuriere gelegentlicher Widerstand Gr. Smit Untergetauchte Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen Polizei Geistliche NSB / NSDAP


Vor dem Krieg bestand die niederländische Polizei aus der Militärpolizei, genannt Marechaussee, der Rijksveldwacht (nationale Polizei) und der Gemeenteveldwacht (Gemeindepolizei). Am 5. Juli 1940 schlossen die deutschen Besatzer diese drei Polizeien unter dem Namen Marechaussee zusammen. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurden sie wieder in das Korps Rijkspolitie (Nationale Polizei, die die alte Rijksveldwacht und Gemeenteveldwacht ersetzte) und den Königlichen Marechaussee aufgeteilt, die wieder militärischen Status erlangte Niederländisches Wikipedia).
Jeder der Polizisten auf dieser Liste zeigt, welche Haltung den Besatzern gegenüber jeweils möglich war.
Siehe auch die Liste der in ganz Limburg gefallenen Polizeibeamten4 Pers.
Franssen,
Jan
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
Polizei - Valkenburg - Überlebende(r) - Jan Franssen war Kommandant der Marechaussee (später Rijkspolitie) in Valkenburg. Shrieb am 7. Juni 1946 auf Bitte von Bürgermeister einen Bericht über Besatzung und Befreiung. Daraus zitiert Jan Diederen in  …

Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Diese Person kommt auch vor auf der Gefallenenliste im Widerstandsdenkmal auf dem Cauberg
Rennes / Renesse, van
Godert
∗ 0000-00-00
Heteren
† 1903-02-16
Polizei - Valkenburg - NSB - Überlebende(r) - Auf der Genealogieseite der Familie Van Rennes steht, dass beide Formen des Nahnamens vorkommen. Renesse ist die alte Version.
Vor dem Krieg waren die Niederlande sehr stark versäult …

Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Roy, van
Hubertus Andreas
∗ 1893-03-09
Nederweert
† 1981-11-24
Valkenburg
früher Widerstand - Polizei - Valkenburg - Überlebende(r) - Veldwachter in Valkenburg (Feldhüter, Gemeindepolizist) bis Dezember 1941. War Mitglied der frühen Widerstandsgruppe Smit in Heerlen. Die frühesten Daten über diese Gruppe stammen aus dem Jahr 1940 und Anfang 1941. J.Smit, ein im Juli 1940 demobilisierter Berufssoldat, arbeitete anschließend …

Diese Person kommt auch vor auf der Gefallenenliste im Widerstandsdenkmal auf dem Cauberg
https://www.openarch.nl/hvr:3b910fc2-32d7-151f-96c6-bcd15090b0b6/de
https://www.landvanherle.nl/editie/2019/2019-3.pdf
Ven, op de
Johannes Hendrikus
∗ 1919-02-23
Swalmen
† 1948-06-20
Maastricht
vereinzelter Widerstand - Polizei - Valkenburg - Untergetaucht - Überlebende(r) - In der Nacht zum 22. Juni 1944 versah er zusammen mit einem NSB-Mitglied im Verteilungsamt in Valkenburg die Nachtwache. War in dem Plan eingeweiht. Danach ist er untergetaucht, um den Verdacht von Freysen und den anderen abzulenken.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Diese Person kommt auch vor auf der Gefallenenliste im Widerstandsdenkmal auf dem Cauberg
http://www.de-veiligheidsregio.nl/juli-2015/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2015/07/Juni-Tuinvanbezinning.pdf
https://www.wiewaswie.nl/nl/zoeken/?q=Wilhelmus%20Agathus%20Petrus%20Freysen&advancedsearch=1