Ov1 Persons
MenuPersons text, no JavaScript Log in   This page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
Open MenuBox
 

Persons

People who played a role during WW2 in and around Valkenburg. Most of them appear in the resistance story about Valkenburg. In that case, click on More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg next to that name.
This list is far from being complete.

† ✡ † Jews Holocaust Allied soldiers USA RAF NL sold Verzet initial resistance L.O. K.P. municipality local contacts couriers occasional resistance people in hiding Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem † Valkenburg+ Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen police priests NSB / NSDAP


The clergy Even before the war, the Dutch churches made it very clear: national socialism is incompatible with Christian principles. The bishop of Roermond was also very firm in this. In the Limburgian resistance, especially in assisting people in hiding, the clergy presence was prominent at every level, among them mainly chaplains.7 pers.
Berix,
Jan Willem
Giel
∗ 1907-04-12
Meers
† 1945-03-13
Bergen-Belsen
L.O. - priest - Heerlen - person in hiding - war victim - During the first days of September 1943 he founded the L.O.-district Heerlen with others. Became district leader after rector had withdrawn for health reasons. See also the special page on this website.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Geelen,
Th.G.H.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1962-05-19
Roermond
L.O. - priest - Meerssen - survivor - Chaplain in Meerssen since 1928, 1944 pastor of the male youth work in Limburg, pastor of a parish in Roermond. Pierre Schunck of the L.O. Valkenburg wrote: “In 1942 I heard from chaplain Berix that a chaplain Geelen from Meerssen hid two boys in my father’s cave, who were wanted by the Germans.” Cammaert: “Chaplain Th.GH Geelen from Meerssen, in collaboration with members of the former Jonge Wacht, helped submerging young people in a cave since 1942.” (The Jonge Wacht, Young Guard was a catholic youth organiation, which was forbidden by the Germans, because only national-socialist organisations were still allowed.)
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Hennekens,
G. Hub
∗ 1909-02-15
Sittard
† 1970-11-26
Heerlen
early resistance - priest - Valkenburg - survivor - Chaplain at the St. Nicolaas & Barbara parish in Valkenburg. Cammaert wrote: “Chaplain G.H. Hennekens copied in Valkenburg sermons of Von Galen, bishop of Münster, and his pastoral letters. He quoted them again and again during his Sunday sermons and did not hide his anti-German feelings. In the course of 1941 he came through officer H.A. van Roy of the municipal police of Valkenburg in contact with the group Smit, who declared themselves willing to take care of the distribution of the stencils.” The Smit group was a “circle of members of the resistance around former military officer J.L. Smit in Heerlen. They focused on collecting weapons and ammunition, the distribution (and sale) of the first illegal magazines such as Vrij Nederland, as well as the sale of photographs of the royal family. With the money that was earned from selling these photos, the costs were combated.” Because of his popularity Von Galen was not arrested but placed under house arrest. Chaplain Hennekens might have hoped that too, but he was arrested on February 2, 1942. He was brought to the concentration camp in Dachau near Munich
By endangering himself publicly, he resisted to the nazi’s in a way that many did not understand. But he has given a signal and encouraged others to resist. In September 1955 he was appointed pastor in Rothem. Retired early due to health problems due to his camp period. Moved back to Valkenburg. Buried: St. Agnes, Bunde
See the article by Hub Hennekens jr. about his godfather in the book „Valkenburg 75 jaar bevrijd“ on p.35.
https://www.online-familieberichten.nl/zoeken.asp?sortpers=naam&achternaam=Hennekens&page=1&command=show&type=ovladv&char=H&view=zoek&name=&id=1604205
Horsmans,
Wim (Willem Bernard Jozef)
∗ 1912-05-20
Ubachsberg
† 1987-05-31
Heerlen
L.O. - local contact - priest - survivor - Chaplain in Valkenburg 1938-1950. Contact person of the LO for people in hiding, together with the sexton Harie van Ogtrop, supported by J. Peusens and J. van de Aa. His last position: dean of Meerssen (1963-1975), where he is also buried.
mortuary card in the Rijckheyt Archive. He was a brother of the post-war KVP politician Louis Horsmans, who was also a contact person for the L.O. during the war(in Houthem-Sint Gerlach) and deputy of Heinrich Stahl in the limestone quarry Schunck near Geulhem. Also a third brother, Jan Frans Antoon Horsmans, tenant of the Wijngaardshof in Ulestraten was member of the resistance. There Sjeng Coenen and Joep Francotte were arrested.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Prompers,
Nic M.H.
∗ 1908-11-05
Sint Geertruid
† 0000-00-00
L.O. - priest - Heerlen - survivor - Nic (Nicolaas Maria Hubertus) Prompers was one of the founders of the L.O. district of Heerlen. He collaborated on the resistance magazine “Het Vrije Volk” in Heerlen, including the chief physician Van Berckel of the St. Jozef hospital in Putgraaf, where Prompers worked as a rector. During one of the first days of September 1943, the L.O. Heerlen district was established in the hospital of Rector Prompers. A certain mr “Paul Simons” from Valkenburg was present too. 1955-1971 he was pastor in Broekhem. Golden “Father Prompers receives the resistance memorial cross from Mr. J. Cornips. Dean Jochems watches.” Limburgsch dagblad, 04/18/1983.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
https://www.rug.nl/research/portal/files/14543329/11_h11.pdf
Westerhoven, van
Jan
Ferdinand
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
L.O. - priest - Valkenburg - survivor - As Father Ferdinand he was a member (and chief?) of the monastery on the Cauberg (sscc). Worked for the Resistance during the occupation. Involuntarily witnessed the “execution” of Funs Savelberg.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Wolf,
G.A.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
L.O. - priest - Sibbe - survivor - Rector in Sibbe. He helped Jews and Communists to hide, together with A.C. van der Gronden. At the end of 1943 they joined the L.O., sub-district of Valkenburg. Due to the talkativeness of the person in hiding A.S. Bron, he was arrested on February 17, 1944, along with Bron and the hidden person Th.M. from Santpoort. In the absence of evidence, Wolf was released after ten days and Van Santpoort after some months. Bron was deported and survived the German camps. Source: Cammaert, Chapter 6b
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg

Geistliche
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Geistliche

Menschen die während des Zweiten Weltkrieges in und rund Valkenburg eine Rolle gespielt haben. Die meisten kommen in der Widerstandsgeschichte unserer Stadt vor. Klicken Sie in diesem Fall bei diesem Namen auf Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg.
Diese Liste ist alles andere als komplett.

† ✡ † Jüd*innen Holocaust Alliierte Soldaten. USA RAF NL sold Verzet früher Widerstand L.O. K.P. Gemeinde Taucherchefs Kuriere gelegentlicher Widerstand Untergetauchte Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen Polizei Geistliche NSB / NSDAP


Die Geistlichen. Schon vor dem Krieg haben es die niederländischen Kirchen unmissverständlich ausgesprochen: Der Nationalsozialismus ist mit christlichen Prinzipien unvereinbar. Auch der Bischof von Roermond war darin sehr eindeutig. Im limburgischen Widerstand, insbesondere bei der Unterstützung von Untertauchern, war die Präsenz der Geistlichen auf allen Ebenen von herausragender Bedeutung, darunter vor allem Kapläne.
Siehe auch die Liste der in ganz Limburg gefallenen Geistlichen 7 Pers.
Berix,
Jan Willem
Giel
∗ 1907-04-12
Meers
† 1945-03-13
Bergen-Belsen
L.O. - Geistlicher - Heerlen - Untergetaucht - Kriegsopfer - In den ersten Tagen von September 1943 gründete er mit anderen den L.O.-Distrikt Heerlen. Wurde Distriktsleiter, nachdem sich Rektor Prompers aus gesundheitlichen Gründen zurückgezogen hatte. Siehe auch die spezielle Seite auf dieser Website.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Diese Person kommt auch vor auf der Gefallenenliste im Widerstandsdenkmal auf dem Cauberg
https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/10748/jan-willem-berix
Geelen,
Th.G.H.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1962-05-19
Roermond
L.O. - Geistlicher - Meerssen - Überlebende(r) - Kaplan in Meerssen seit 1928, 1944 Seelsorger der männlichen Jugendarbeit in Limburg, Pfarrer in Roermond. Pierre Schunck von der LO Valkenburg schrieb: „1942 habe ich durch Kaplan Berix erfahren, dass ein Kaplan Geelen aus Meerssen zwei Jungs in der Höhle meines Vaters versteckte, die von den Deutschen gesucht wurden.“ Cammaert: „Kaplan Th.G.H. Geelen aus Meerssen ließ in Zusammenarbeit mit Mitgliedern der ehemaligen Jonge Wacht seit 1942 junge Leute in einer Höhle untertauchen.“ (Die Jonge Wacht war eine katholische Jugendorganisation, die von den Deutschen verboten wurde, weil ja nur noch nationalsozialistische Organisationen erlaubt waren.)
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Hennekens,
G. Hub
∗ 1909-02-15
Sittard
† 1970-11-26
Heerlen
früher Widerstand - Geistlicher - Valkenburg - Überlebende(r) - Kaplan an der Pfarre St. Nicolaas & Barbara in Valkenburg. Cammaert schrieb: „Kaplan G.H. Hennekens in Valkenburg kopierte Predigten von Von Galen, der Bischof von Münster, und seine Hirtenbriefe. Er zitierte sie während seiner Sonntagspredichten immer wieder und machte keinen Hehl aus seinen antideutschen Gefühlen. Im Laufe des Jahres 1941 kam er durch den Feldhüter H.A. van Roy aus Valkenburg in Kontakt mit Smit. Letzterer erklärte sich bereit, sich um die Verteilung der Abzüge zu kümmern.“ Die Smit-Gruppe war ein „Kreis von Widerstandsleuten um den ehemaligen Offizier J.L. Smit in Heerlen. Sie konzentrierten sich auf das Sammeln von Waffen und Munition, den Vertrieb (und Verkauf) der ersten illegalen Blätter wie Vrij Nederland sowie den Verkauf von Fotografien der königlichen Familie. Mit dem Geld, das durch den Verkauf dieser Fotos verdient wurde, wurden die Kosten bestritten.“ Aufgrund seiner Popularität wurde Von Galen nicht verhaftet, sondern unter Hausarrest gestellt. Kaplan Hennekens hätte das für sich vielleicht auch gehofft, aber er wurde am 2. Februar 1942 verhaftet. Er wurde in das Konzentrationslager Dachau bei München gebracht. Indem er sich öffentlich in Gefahr brachte, widerstand er den Nazis auf eine Weise, die viele nicht verstanden haben. Aber er hat damit ein Zeichen gesetzt und andere ermutigt, ihrerseits Widerstand zu leisten. Im September 1955 wurde er zum Pfarrer in Rothem ernannt. Wegen gesundheitlicher Probleme durch seine Lagerzeit vorzeitig pensioniert. Wieder nach Valkenburg gezogen. Begraben: St. Agnes, Bunde
Siehe den Artikel von Hub Hennekens Jr. über seinen Paten im Buch „Valkenburg 75 jaar bevrijd“, S.35
https://www.online-familieberichten.nl/zoeken.asp?sortpers=naam&achternaam=Hennekens&page=1&command=show&type=ovladv&char=H&view=zoek&name=&id=1604205
Horsmans,
Wim (Willem Bernard Jozef)
∗ 1912-05-20
Ubachsberg
† 1987-05-31
Heerlen
L.O. - lokale Kontaktperson - Geistlicher - Überlebende(r) - Kaplan in Valkenburg 1938-1950. LO Kontaktmann für Untergetauchte, zusammen mit dem Küster Harie van Ogtrop, unterstützt von J. Peusens und J. van de Aa. Sein letztes Amt: Dechant von Meerssen (1963-1975), wo er auch begraben liegt.
Totenzettel im Rijckheyt Archiv. Er war ein Bruder des späteren KVP-Politikers Louis Horsmans, der während des Krieges auch Kontaktperson für die L.O. war (in Houthem-Sint Gerlach) und Stellvertreter von Heinrich Stahl im Kalksteinbruch Schunck bei Geulhem. Auch ein dritter Bruder, Jan Frans Antoon Horsmans, Mieter des Wijngaardshofs in Ulestraten, war Mitglied des Widerstands. Bei ihm wurden Sjeng Coenen und Jupp Francotte verhaftet.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Prompers,
Nic M.H.
∗ 1908-11-05
Sint Geertruid
† 0000-00-00
L.O. - Geistlicher - Heerlen - Überlebende(r) - Nic (Nicolaas Maria Hubertus) Prompers war einer der Gründer des L.O. Distriktes Heerlen. Er arbeitete an der Widerstandszeitschrift „Het Vrije Volk“ in Heerlen mit, unter anderen zusammen mit dem Chefarzt Van Berckel des St. Jozef-Krankenhauses am Putgraaf, in dem Prompers als Rektor tätig war. An einem der ersten Septembertage 1943 wurde dort in der Amtswohnung von Rektor Prompers der L.O. Distrikt Heerlen gegründet. Ein gewisser „Paul Simons“ aus Valkenburg war ebenfalls anwesend. 1955-1971 war Prompers Pfarrer in Broekhem. Der goldene „Pastor Prompers erhält das Widerstandsgedenkkreuz von Herrn J. Cornips. Dechant Jochems sieht zu.“ Limburgsch dagblad, 18-04-1983.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
https://www.rug.nl/research/portal/files/14543329/11_h11.pdf
Westerhoven, van
Jan
Ferdinand
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
L.O. - Geistlicher - Valkenburg - Überlebende(r) - War als Pater Ferdinand Mitglied (und Chef?) der „Patres am Cauberg“ sscc. Hat während der Besatzung für den Widerstand gearbeitet. War unfreiwilliger Zeuge der „Hinrichtung“ von Funs Savelberg.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Wolf,
G.A.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
L.O. - Geistlicher - Sibbe - Überlebende(r) - Rektor in Sibbe. Er half Juden und Kommunisten sich zu verstecken, zusammen mit A.C. van der Gronden. Ende 1943 schlossen sie sich der L.O. im Unterbezirk Valkenburg an. Aufgrund der Geschwätzigkeit des Untertauchers A.S. Bron wurde er am 17. Februar 1944 verhaftet, zusammen mit Bron und dem Untertaucher Th.M. von Santpoort. In Ermangelung von Beweisen wurde Wolf nach zehn Tagen und Van Santpoort nach einigen Monaten freigelassen. Bron wurde deportiert und überlebte die deutschen Lager. Quelle: Cammaert, Kapitel 6b
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg