Ov1 Persons
MenuPersons text, no JavaScript Log in   This page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
Open MenuBox
 

Persons

People who played a role during WW2 in and around Valkenburg. Most of them appear in the resistance story about Valkenburg. In that case, click on More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg next to that name.
This list is far from being complete.



Valkenburg & surrounings

† ✡ † Jews Holocaust Allied soldiers USA RAF NL sold Verzet initial resistance L.O. K.P. municipality local contacts couriers occasional resistance people in hiding Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem † Valkenburg+ Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen police priests NSB / NSDAP


Church Towers are easy to find. There are a number of villages around Valkenburg, most of which belonged to the then municipality of Valkenburg-Houthem. The assistance to people in hiding L.O. was organized per Catholic parish. Because the church was the only organization that could survive during the occupation. The duikhoofden (divers’ chiefs) in these villages were sort of local L.O. leaders.
Open Street Map: Berg en Terblijt, Margraten, Sibbe, Houthem, Schin op Geul, IJzeren (no own church) Geulhem, Meerssener Broek, today Gemeentebroek. Parts of pre-war Hulsberg, such as Emmaberg, were added to Valkenburg.2 pers.
Goede-van Gelder, de
Mary
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
Jew - Houthem-St.Gerlach - person in hiding - survivor - From the village of Houthem, we know the stories of Mary de Goede-van Gelder, who was brought in at the age of three and a half by the resistance to Houthem and survived the war there. She also wrote an article about this time in the book “Valkenburg 2019 - 75 years liberated. 75 stories about the invasion in 1940, the occupation and the liberation September 1944”. See the link below:
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Horsmans,
Louis (Gerard Aloys Antoon)
∗ 1918-02-03
Ulestraten
† 2001-03-13
Maria-Hoop (gem. Echt)
L.O. - local contact - Houthem-St.Gerlach - survivor - On the recommendation of Pierre Schunck, he became assistant of H. Stahl to the lime quarry Schunck in Geulhem. Was a brother of chaplain Horsmans in Valkenburg. His brother Jan Frans Antoon Horsmans, tenant of the Wijngaardshof in Ulestraten / Waterval, was also part of the resistance (Knokploeg Zuid-Limburg). There Sjeng Coenen and Joep Francotte were arrested.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
https://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louis_Horsmans
https://www.parlement.com/id/vg09ll1tpgvt/g_a_a_louis_horsmans#p.overig

Houthem-St.Gerlach
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Houthem-St.Gerlach

Menschen die während des Zweiten Weltkrieges in und rund Valkenburg eine Rolle gespielt haben. Die meisten kommen in der Widerstandsgeschichte unserer Stadt vor. Klicken Sie in diesem Fall bei diesem Namen auf Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg.
Diese Liste ist alles andere als komplett.



Valkenburg & Umgebung

† ✡ † Jüd*innen Holocaust Alliierte Soldaten. USA RAF NL sold Verzet früher Widerstand L.O. K.P. Gemeinde Taucherchefs Kuriere gelegentlicher Widerstand Untergetauchte Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen Polizei Geistliche NSB / NSDAP


Kirchtürme sind leicht zu finden. In der Umgebung von Valkenburg gibt es eine Reihe von Dörfern, von denen die meisten der damaligen Gemeinde Valkenburg-Houthem gehörten. Die Hilfsorganisation für die Untertaucher L.O. wurde pro katholischer Pfarre organisiert. Denn die Kirche war die einzige Organisation, die während der Besatzung weitermachen durfte. Die Duikhoofden (Taucherchefs) in diesen Dörfern waren eine Art lokaler L.O. Führer.
Open Street Map: Berg en Terblijt, Margraten, Sibbe, Houthem, Schin op Geul, IJzeren (geen eigen kerk) Geulhem, Meerssener Broek, heute Gemeentebroek. Teile des Vorkriegs-Hulsbergs wie der Emmaberg, wurden in Valkenburg eingemeindet.2 Pers.
Goede-van Gelder, de
Mary
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
Jude*in - Houthem-St.Gerlach - Untergetaucht - Überlebende(r) - Aus dem Dorf Houthem kennen wir die Geschichten von Mary de Goede-van Gelder, die als dreieinhalbjähriges Mädchen vom Widerstand nach Houthem gebracht wurde und dort den Krieg überlebte.Sie schrieb darüber auch einen Beitrag im Buch „Valkenburg 2019 – 75 Jahre befreit, 75 Geschichten über die Invasion im Jahr 1940, die Besetzung und die Befreiung im September 1944”. Siehe unten stehenden Link:
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Horsmans,
Louis (Gerardus Aloysius Anton
∗ 1918-02-03
Ulestraten
† 2001-03-13
Maria-Hoop (gem. Echt)
L.O. - lokale Kontaktperson - Houthem-St.Gerlach - Überlebende(r) - Er wurde auf Empfehlung von Pierre Schunck Stellvertreter von für H. Stahl im Kalksteinbruch Schunck in Geulhem. War ein Bruder von Kaplan Horsmans in Valkenburg. Sein Bruder Jan Frans Antoon Horsmans, Pächter des Wijngaardshof in Ulestraten/Waterval, war auch beim Widerstand (Knokploeg Zuid-Limburg). Bei ihm wurden Sjeng Coenen und Jupp Francotte verhaftet.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
https://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louis_Horsmans
https://www.parlement.com/id/vg09ll1tpgvt/g_a_a_louis_horsmans#p.overig