Ov1 Persons
MenuPersons text, no JavaScript Log in   This page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
 

Persons

People who played a role during WW2 in and around Valkenburg. Most of them appear in the resistance story about Valkenburg. In that case, click on More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg next to that name.
This list is far from being complete.



Memorial stone for the resistance people Coenen and Francotte

† ✡ † Jews Holocaust Allied soldiers USA RAF NL sold Verzet initial resistance L.O. K.P. municipality local contacts couriers occasional resistance people in hiding Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem † Valkenburg+ Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen police priests NSB / NSDAP


The K.P. or knokploeg was the combat team of the L.O. The South Limburg fight teams have joined together into one group. They had their headquarters on the farm of C.J.H. Janssen in Ulestraten. Their task, apart from a few sabotage actions, was not military but support for people in hiding such as providing ration stamps etc.7 pers.
Coenen,
Sjeng
∗ 1915-01-10
Simpelveld
† 1944-09-05
Valkenburg
L.O. - K.P. - person in hiding - war victim - Former subdistrictleader of Simpelveld. Cammaert: “After the betrayal of Wittem, J.H. Coenen from Simpelveld and W.J. Francotte from Vaals, who had worked for the illegal magazine Je Maintiendrai in Amsterdam until the summer of 1944, joined the KP. They participated in the raid on the jail of Maastricht on September 2.” They went into hiding in the Diver’s Inn in Geulhem “where suspects and difficult people in hiding were detained and interrogated. … They were arrested by the Germans on September 5th, 1944 (Mad Tuesday) during a resistance action. By order of Major Bernhardt, they were shot on the Cauberg (Valkenburg). There is a memorial stone and the monument for the fallen resistance people of Limburg on that spot.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
https://warsage.nl/levensverhalen/sjeng-coenen/
https://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sjeng_Coenen
Corbey,
George
∗ 1924-10-19
Valkenburg
† 1988-11-21
K.P. - Valkenburg - survivor - He was the third member of the KP (fight team) Valkenburg. The KPs in South Limburg were later merged, headquarters in Ulestraten. Even Sittard cooperated, although they did not participate in the merger. The KP of Sittard had stolen a German Wehrmacht car in a garage, along with a few barrels of gasoline. The car was transferred to Valkenburg and fully repaired in the Corbey garage and then taken to a cave behind the monastery on the Cauberg. Among other things, it was used for the robbery at the Valkenburg distribution office.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Crasborn,
Jacques
∗ 1916-04-12
Ittervoort
† 1987-11-26
Heerlen
K.P. - survivor - Jacobus Reinier Peter Crasborn, from Ittervoort, decided after four years of high school to study for mine surveyor. On January 1, 1940, he was employed in this profession at the Oranje Nassau IV mine. His school friend L.J. de Graaf, head of the administration of the same mine, involved Crasborn in the distribution of the resistance paper “Het Vrije Volk”. As head of the KP groups in Südlimburg, he led the attack on the local distribution office in cooperation with LO-Valkenburg. In the second half of July 1944, Crasborn and Van Kooten moved to Swalmen at the invitation of J. Frantzen. They found shelter on the monumental De Baxhof farm of the Poels family on the outskirts of the village.
During Operation Market Garden, he asked the KP groups to procure weapons, which led to the adventure in the forests of Baarlo. Crasborn was the commander of this campaign, but was usually not on site.
Photo: Major Jacques Crasborn, from December 2 on, 1944 second commander of the BS (Inland Armed Forces) south of the great rivers, in an armchair by the fireplace, on his first visit to the Command of Limburg at the Hotel Oranjehof in Valkenburg.
After the war, Crasborn became chairman of the Limburg section of the National Federation of Former Resistance in the Netherlands (NFR / VVN) and Stichting 40-45 (foundation to commemorate the fallen of the resistance in Limburg 1940-1945).
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Francotte,
Joep
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-05
Valkenburg
L.O. - K.P. - person in hiding - war victim - Roofer from Vaals. On the site about him, see link below, we read: “… refused to go to work in Germany and was sentenced to months of hard labor in a camp for that.” Cammaert: “After the betrayal of Wittem, J.H. Coenen from Simpelveld and W.J. Francotte from Vaals, who had worked for the clandestine magazine Je Maintiendrai in Amsterdam until the summer of 1944, joined the KP. They participated in the raid on the jail of Maastricht on September 2.” They went into hiding in the Diver’s Inn in Geulhem “where suspects and difficult people in hiding were detained and interrogated. Generally, Francotte took care of the surveillance of the “prisoners” because of his strongness. Both were arrested by the Germans on September 5th, 1944 (Mad Tuesday) during a resistance action. By order of Major Bernhardt, they were shot on the Cauberg (Valkenburg). There is a memorial stone and the monument for the fallen resistance people of Limburg on that spot.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
https://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joep_Francotte
https://www.joep.francotte.nl/verhaal.htm
Kooten, van
Bep
∗ 1914-12-12
Laren N.H.
† 1979-06-20
Hilversum
L.O. - K.P. - Klimmen - survivor - Bep (B.J.C.) van Kooten, temporarily leader of the LO Klimmen and, for the sub-district of Valkenburg, contact person to the KP (“Knokploegen”, armed groups), sabotage specialist of the KP. Towards the end of the war, the rayon (subdistrict) of Klimmen worked closely together with the rayon of Valkenburg, so here follows a bit more about this village from Het Verborgen Front = The Hidden Front, chapter 6b VIII.5.7. by Dr. A. Cammaert.
Some group members were (also) part of the O.D. and maintained contacts with aid workers in the Heerlen region, including with chaplain Berix. These connections date from the Smit period or were brought on the way by the chaplain of Voerendaal, A.F.J. Vondenhoff. In the autumn of 1943, Bep van Kooten established the connection of the subdistrict with the Heerlen district. In addition to Klimmen it included the villages of Hulsberg, Voerendaal, Ransdaal and Ubachsberg. Van Kooten took charge and appointed Miss M.Th. Jaspers as a messenger. Because of Van Kooten’s fast career in Limburg resistance, the actual leadership rested with Brouwers who soon succeeded him. G.H. Meurders and curate A.J. Gibbels, who had to work under very difficult circumstances because the pastor was pro-German, were his deputies.
Biography at the website of his rugby club.
At the end of the war, Van Kooten was looking for a suitable depot for weapons and a shooting range for the “Knokploegen” of South Limburg. So this cave had to be evacuated.
In the second half of July 1944, Crasborn and Van Kooten moved to Swalmen, at the invitation of J. Frantzen. They found shelter on the monumental farm De Baxhof of the Poels family on the edge of the village. Bep was commissioned by Crasborn to travel through the lines via the recently liberated Valkenburg and Maastricht to the headquarters of Prince Bernhard in Brussels, where he was appointed commander of the Stoottroepen in Limburg, see the chapter Valkenburg is free below. As a member of the Dutch army, he participated in the actions against the new republic of Indonesia after the war.
Photo: Swearing in as an officer of Bep van Kooten, Commander of the Limburg Command / Limburg Regiment, in front of a line-up..
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Lambriks,
Jo
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
K.P. - Valkenburg - survivor - After a while, a K.P also emerged in Valkenburg. It initially consisted of two men, the teachers Jeng Meijs and Jo Lambriks. Meijs had Jacques Crasborn as a pupil in his class some years before.
http://users.cuci.nl/mierlo/kwartierstaat/jochem.htm#ID1044
Meijs,
Sjeng
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
K.P. - Valkenburg - survivor - After a while, a K.P also emerged in Valkenburg. It initially consisted of two men, the teachers Jeng Meijs and Jo Lambriks. Meijs had Jacques Crasborn in his class a few years before.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg

Angehörige der Kampfgruppen KP
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Angehörige der Kampfgruppen KP

Menschen die während des Zweiten Weltkrieges in und rund Valkenburg eine Rolle gespielt haben. Die meisten kommen in der Widerstandsgeschichte unserer Stadt vor. Klicken Sie in diesem Fall bei diesem Namen auf Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg.
Diese Liste ist alles andere als komplett.



Gedenkstein für die Widerständler Coenen und Francotte

† ✡ † Jüd*innen Holocaust Alliierte Soldaten. USA RAF NL sold Verzet früher Widerstand L.O. K.P. Gemeinde Taucherchefs Kuriere gelegentlicher Widerstand Untergetauchte Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen Polizei Geistliche NSB / NSDAP


Der K.P. oder auch knokploeg = Kampfteam, war der bewaffnete Arm der L.O. Die Kampfteams von Süd-Limburg haben sich zu einem einzigen K.P. zusammengeschlossen. Sie hatten ihr Hauptquartier auf dem Bauernhof von C.J.H. Janssen in Ulestraten. Ihre Aufgabe war, abgesehen von einigen Sabotageaktionen, nicht militärischer Natur, sondern die Unterstützung der Untertaucher wie z.B. durch die Beschaffung von Lebensmittelmarken usw.
Siehe auch die Liste der in ganz Limburg gefallenen der KP8 Pers.
Berckel, van
Karel C.
∗ 1892-08-19
Delft
† 1944-09-05
Kamp Vught
L.O. - K.P. - Heerlen - Kriegsopfer - Chirurg und Klinikdirektor im St. Jozef-Krankenhaus am Putgraaf in Heerlen. Er war einer von denen, die dort ein wichtiges Widerstandszentrum und den Beginn der L.O. im Distrikt Heerlen schufen, von wo aus auch die Verbindung mit Valkenburg hergestellt wurde. Wie fast alle Menschen der Limburger L.O. war er ein frommer Christ. Außerdem schrieb er für die Heerlener Widerstandszeitung „Het Vrije Volk“.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Diese Person kommt auch vor auf der Gefallenenliste im Widerstandsdenkmal auf dem Cauberg
https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/9721/karel-clemens-van-berckel
https://www.nmkampvught.nl/biografieen/1125/
Coenen,
Sjeng
∗ 1915-01-10
Simpelveld
† 1944-09-05
Valkenburg
L.O. - K.P. - Untergetaucht - Kriegsopfer - Typograf, ehemaliger Subdistriktsleiter von Simpelveld. Cammaert: „Nach dem Verrat von Wittem schlossen sich J.H. Coenen aus Simpelveld und W.J. Francotte aus Vaals, die bis zum Sommer 1944 für die illegale Zeitschrift Je Maintiendrai in Amsterdam gearbeitet hatten, dem KP an. Sie nahmen am 2. September an dem Überfall auf das Gefängnis von Maastricht teil. Sie tauchten unter in der Taucherherberge in Geulhem, wo „Verdächtige und fragwürdige Untertaucher inhaftiert und verhört wurden. … Beide wurden am 5. September 1944 („Dolle Dinsdag“) während einer Widerstandsaktion von den Deutschen festgenommen. Auf Befehl von Major Bernhardt wurden sie auf dem Cauberg (Valkenburg) erschossen. An dieser Stelle befindet sich ein Gedenkstein und das Denkmal für die gefallenen Limburger Widerstandsleute.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Diese Person kommt auch vor auf der Gefallenenliste im Widerstandsdenkmal auf dem Cauberg
https://warsage.nl/levensverhalen/sjeng-coenen/
Corbey,
George
∗ 1924-10-19
Valkenburg
† 1988-11-21
K.P. - Valkenburg - Überlebende(r) - Drittes Mitglied des Valkenburger KP (Knokploeg, Kampfteam). Die KPs in Südlimburg wurden später fusioniert, Hauptsitz in Ulestraten. Sogar Sittard kooperierte, obwohl sie nicht an der Fusion teilnahmen. Der KP von Sittard hatte ein deutsches Wehrmachtsauto gestohlen. Das wurde nach Valkenburg gebracht, in der Garage Corbey überholt und anschließend in eine Höhle hinter dem Kloster am Cauberg gebracht. Es wurde unter Anderem beim Angriff auf das Verteilungsamt Valkenburg eingesetzt.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Crasborn,
Jacques
∗ 1916-04-12
Ittervoort
† 1987-11-26
Heerlen
K.P. - Überlebende(r) - Der aus Ittervoort stammende Jacobus Reinier Peter Crasborn entschied sich nach vier Jahren Gymnasium für ein Studium als Markscheider (Grubenvermesser). Am 1. Januar 1940 wurde er in diesem Beruf auf der Zeche Oranje Nassau IV eingestellt. Sein Schulfreund L.J. de Graaf, der Leiter der Verwaltung derselben Mine, beteiligte Crasborn am Vertrieb der Widerstandszeitung „Het Vrije Volk“. Als Chef des KP Südlimburg leitete er in Zusammenarbeit mit der LO-Valkenburg den Überfall auf das dortige Verteilungsamt. In der zweiten Julihälfte 1944 zogen Crasborn und Van Kooten auf Einladung von J. Frantzen nach Swalmen. Sie fanden Obdach auf dem monumentalen Bauernhof „De Baxhof“ der Familie Poels am Dorfrand.
Während der Operation Market Garden forderte er die KPs auf, Waffen zu beschaffen, was zu einem Abenteuer in den Wäldern von Baarlo führte. Crasborn war der Kommandeur dieser Kampagne, war aber normalerweise nicht vor Ort.
Foto: Major Jacques Crasborn, ab dem 2. Dezember 1944 2. Kommandeur der BS (Inland Streitkräfte) südlich der großen Flüsse, in einem Sessel am Kamin, bei seinem ersten Besuch beim Stab des Commando Limburg im Hotel Oranjehof in Valkenburg.
Nach dem Krieg wurde Crasborn Vorsitzender der Limburger Sektion des Nationalen Föderativen Rates des ehemaligen Widerstands in den Niederlanden (NFR / VVN) und der Stichting 40-45 (Stiftung zum Gedenken an die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Limburg 1940-1945).
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Francotte,
Joep
∗ 1920-12-29
Vaals
† 1944-09-05
Valkenburg
L.O. - K.P. - Untergetaucht - Kriegsopfer - Cammaert: „Nach dem Verrat von Wittem hat J.H. Coenen aus Simpelveld und W.J. Francotte aus Vaals, die bis zum Sommer 1944 für die illegale Zeitschrift Je Maintiendrai in Amsterdam gearbeitet hatten, schlossen sich dem KP an. Sie nahmen am 2. September an dem Überfall des Gefängnissses von Maastricht teil. Sie versteckten sich in der Taucherherberge in Geulhem, wo „Verdächtige und fragwürdige Untertaucher inhaftiert und verhört wurden. Im Allgemeinen übernahm der kräftig gebaute Francotte die Überwachung der „Gefangenen“. Beide wurden am 5. September 1944 („Dolle Dinsdag“) während einer Widerstandsaktion von den Deutschen festgenommen. Auf Befehl von Major Bernhardt wurden sie auf dem Cauberg (Valkenburg) erschossen. An dieser Stelle befindet sich ein Gedenkstein und das Denkmal für die gefallenen Limburger Widerstandsleute.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Diese Person kommt auch vor auf der Gefallenenliste im Widerstandsdenkmal auf dem Cauberg
https://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joep_Francotte
https://www.joep.francotte.nl/verhaal.htm
Kooten, van
Bep
∗ 1914-12-12
Laren N.H.
† 1979-06-20
Hilversum
L.O. - K.P. - Klimmen - Überlebende(r) - Bep (B.J.C.) van Kooten, zeitweiliger Chef von LO Klimmen und für den Unterdistrikt Valkenburg Kontaktmann zum KP., Sabotagespezialist des KP. Gegen Kriegsende arbeitete der Rayon (Unterbezirk) Klimmen eng mit dem Rayon Valkenburg zusammen, daher hier ein bisschen mehr über dieses Dorf aus Het Verborgen Front = Die verborgene Front, Kapitel 6b VIII.5.7. von Dr. A. Cammaert.
Einige Gruppenmitglieder waren (außerdem) Teil des O.D. und pflegten Kontakte zu Hllfeleistenden in der Region Heerlen, darunter Kaplan Berix. Diese Verbindungen stammen aus der Smit-Zeit oder wurden vom Kaplan von Voerendaal, A.F.J. Vondenhoff, angebahnt. Im Herbst 1943 stellte Bep van Kooten die Verbindung des Unterbezirks zum Bezirk Heerlen her, zu dem neben Klimmen auch die Orte Hulsberg, Voerendaal, Ransdaal und Ubachsberg gehörten. Er übernahm das Kommando und ernannte Frl. M.Th. Jaspers als Kurierin. Aufgrund der schnellen Karriere von Van Kooten im Widerstand auf Provinzniveau lag die eigentliche Führung bei Brouwers, der ihm bald nachfolgte. G.H. Meurders und Kaolan A.J. Gibbels, der unter sehr schwierigen Umständen arbeiten musste, weil der Pfarrer pro-deutsch war, waren seine Stellvertreter.
Biografie auf der Website seines Rugbyclubs
Van Kooten war gegen Ende der Besatzungszeit auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Lager für Waffen und einem Schießstand für die südlimburger „Knokploegen“ (Kommandogruppen). Die Taucherherberge musste daher geräumt werden.
In der zweiten Julihälfte 1944 zogen Crasborn und Van Kooten auf Einladung von J. Frantzen nach Swalmen. Sie fanden Unterschlupf im monumentalen Bauernhof „De Baxhof“ der Familie Poels am Dorfrand. Bep wurde von Crasborn beauftragt, durch die Linien über die kürzlich befreiten Orte Valkenburg und Maastricht zum Hauptquartier von Prinz Bernhard in Brüssel zu fahren, wo er zum Befehlshaber der Stoottroepen in Limburg ernannt wurde, siehe das Kapittel Valkenburg ist frei. Beteiligte sich nach dem Krieg als Mitglied der NL Kolonialarmee an den Aktionen gegen die neue Republik Indonesien.
Foto: Vereidigung als Offizier von Bep van Kooten, Kommandeur des Kommando Limburg / Regiment Limburg, vor einer angetretenen Truppe..
Cammaert beschreibt ihn so: „Kooten, B.J.C. van, Klimmen, sportinstructeur. Aangesloten bij de plaatselijke L.O. Klom in 1944 snel op tot voorman van de Limburgse L.O. Hij speelde tevens een vooraanstaande rol in de K.P. Reisde in opdracht van J.R.P. Crasborn in september 1944 naar Brussel voor een ontmoeting met prins Bernhard. Begon na zijn terugkeer in Limburg in opdracht van de prins met de vorming van de Stoottroepen waarover hij in Limburg het commando voerde.“
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Lambriks,
Jo
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
K.P. - Valkenburg - Überlebende(r) - Nach einiger Zeit entstand auch in Valkenburg eine K.P. Sie bestand anfangs aus zwei Personen, den Lehrern Jeng Meijs und Jo Lambriks. Ersterer hatte einige Jahre vorher Jacques Crasborn als Schüler in der Klasse gehabt.
http://users.cuci.nl/mierlo/kwartierstaat/jochem.htm#ID1044
Meijs,
Sjeng
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
K.P. - Valkenburg - Überlebende(r) - Nach einiger Zeit entstand auch in Valkenburg eine K.P. Sie bestand anfangs aus zwei Personen, den Lehrern Jeng Meijs und Jo Lambriks, von denen Ersterer einige Jahre vorher Jacques Crasborn als Schüler in der Klasse gehabt hatte
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg