Ov1 Persons
MenuPersons text, no JavaScript Log in   This page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
Open MenuBox
 

Persons

People who played a role during WW2 in and around Valkenburg. Most of them appear in the resistance story about Valkenburg. In that case, click on More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg next to that name.
This list is far from being complete.

† ✡ † Jews Holocaust Allied soldiers USA RAF NL sold Verzet initial resistance L.O. K.P. municipality local contacts couriers occasional resistance people in hiding Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem † Valkenburg+ Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen police priests NSB / NSDAP


The US-Americans who liberated Valkenburg and its environs belonged to the 119th Infantry Division or Old Hickory Division, the 743rd Tank Battalion associated with them, and further west the Second Armored Division Hell on Wheels (see also Pinterest).14 pers.
Begore,
Quentin K.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-16
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - war victim - Quentin Begore was one of the six soldiers of the Old Hickory Division who were killed in action during the liberation of Valkenburg and its surroundings.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Blum,
Joseph
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-17
Valkenburg
USA, Hell on Wheels - war victim - Jan Diederen writes in Mijn oorlog en bevrijding: “Mrs. Huntjens, who was living at the time on Nieuweweg, saw four soldiers being killed when their jeep hit a land mine in a field at the bottom of the Emmaberg on Sunday morning September 17th, 1944.
According to former air force officer John Gouverne, who enumerates in his book US Army in Zuid-Limburg the casualties of the Second Armored Division (Pinterest) on 17 September, they were: William George, Chester Harrington, Joseph Blum and Frank Manis. Harrington is buried in Henri Chapelle, the three others have been brought back home to the States.”
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Buckler,
Cleaver
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-17
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - war victim - Cleaver Buckler was one of the six soldiers of the Old Hickory Division who were killed in action during the liberation of Valkenburg and its surroundings.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Gathin,
Amos jr.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-16
Valkenburg
USA, 743th Tank Bat. - war victim - Member of the Charly Company of the 743rd tank battalion died on September 16, 1944 in Valkenburg near the Geul. He and Clifton Keith
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
George,
William
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-17
Valkenburg
USA, Hell on Wheels - war victim - Jan Diederen writes in Mijn oorlog en bevrijding: “Mrs. Huntjens, who was living at the time on Nieuweweg, saw four soldiers being killed when their jeep hit a land mine in a field at the bottom of the Emmaberg on Sunday morning September 17th, 1944.
According to former air force officer John Gouverne, who enumerates in his book US Army in Zuid-Limburg the casualties of the Second Armored Division (Pinterest) on 17 September, they were: William George, Chester Harrington, Joseph Blum and Frank Manis. Harrington is buried in Henri Chapelle, the three others have been brought back home to the States.”
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Harrington,
Chester
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-17
Valkenburg
USA, Hell on Wheels - war victim - Jan Diederen writes in Mijn oorlog en bevrijding: “Mrs. Huntjens, who was living at the time on Nieuweweg, saw four soldiers being killed when their jeep hit a land mine in a field at the bottom of the Emmaberg on Sunday morning September 17th, 1944.
According to former air force officer John Gouverne, who enumerates in his book US Army in Zuid-Limburg the casualties of the Second Armored Division (Pinterest) on 17 September, they were: William George, Chester Harrington, Joseph Blum and Frank Manis. Harrington is buried in Henri Chapelle, the three others have been brought back home to the States.”
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Hilleque,
Robert (Bob)
∗ 0000-00-00
Chicago?
† 2008-07-30
Chicago?
USA, Old Hickory - survivor - Bob Hilleque was the only one of the A-company, 1st battalion, 119th regiment, 30th US Infantry Division Old Hickory who survived the war.
On September 14, 1944, Pierre Schunck led an Old Hickory punch (in some open jeeps with machine guns) along the Daelhemmerweg street from Sibbe to the Grendelplein square, through the Grendelpoort gate, into the Muntstraat and deeper into Valkenburg. Guide Schunck was on the hood of the first jeep. Robert Hilleque was one of the soldiers behind him. Pierre and Bob stayed friends for life.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Keith,
Clifton
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-15
Oud-Valkenburg
USA, 743th Tank Bat. - war victim - Member of the Charlie Company of the 743rd tank battalion in tank nr 0—18 He died of his injuries. He and Amos Gathin Jr. from the same company are now buried in the USA. The 743th tank battalion was connected to the 119th infantry division.
Short story of the 743rd Tank Battalion in the vicinity of South-Limburg: “At the same time, Charlie Company went eastward into Oud Valkenburg which was supposed to contain friendly troops. Instead the place was occupied by German infantry. When enemy artillery began to range in, the tanks set up a defense in nearby Valkenburg. The 743rd Tank Battalion was counting casualties again by enemy artillery fire. As the 30th Infantry Division together with the 125th Cavalry Reconnaissance Squadron pushed along the Maastricht - Aachen road, the Germans threw in heavy concentrations of shellfire.”
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
http://www.bensavelkoul.nl/743rd_tank_battalion.htm
Lasch,
Theodore F
∗ 0000-00-00
Oakland County, Mich
† 1945-04-10
Vilt (Valkenburg)
USA, US Air Force - war victim - The last victim of the war in and around Valkenburg. Service number T-063074, served with 364th Fighter Group, 385th Fighter Squadron, crashed in a Mustang P-51 Lucky Lady VI #4415019 on a mission to Oranienburg near Berlin and is buried in the war cemetery near Margraten (Plot K Row 8 Grave 6)
Awards: ★ Air Medal ★ Purple Heart.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
https://www.honorstates.org/index.php?id=61376
Manis,
Frank
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-17
Valkenburg
USA, Hell on Wheels - war victim - Jan Diederen writes in Mijn oorlog en bevrijding: “Mrs. Huntjens, who was living at the time on Nieuweweg, saw four soldiers being killed when their jeep hit a land mine in a field at the bottom of the Emmaberg on Sunday morning September 17th, 1944.
According to former air force officer John Gouverne, who enumerates in his book US Army in Zuid-Limburg the casualties of the Second Armored Division (Pinterest) on 17 September, they were: William George, Chester Harrington, Joseph Blum and Frank Manis. Harrington is buried in Henri Chapelle, the three others have been brought back home to the States.”
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Morgan,
Henry E.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-16
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - war victim - PFC (private 1st class) Henry Morgan was one of the six soldiers of the 119th regiment in the Old-Hickory Division who fell during the liberation of Valkenburg is Henry Morgan. Three days before he was killed, he was accidentally photographed on the jeep and with his inseparable pipe in his mouth on Grendelplein by Frans Hoffman, a local photographer. The only survivor of the A-company, Bob Hilleque from Chicago, recognized him in the photo. Henry Morgan died on 16 September 1944 in the living room of a house on the Reinaldstraat in Valkenburg. He is buried in the American Military Cemetery in Henri Chapelle, Belgium.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Reeves,
John
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-17
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - war victim - John Reeves was one of the six soldiers of the Old Hickory Division who were killed in action during the liberation of Valkenburg and its surroundings.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Spoganetz,
Peter
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-17
Koulen, Voerendaal
USA, Old Hickory - war victim - PlaquePvt Peter Spoganetz (119th Inf Rgt) was one of the six soldiers of the Old Hickory Division who were killed in action during the liberation of Valkenburg and its surroundings.
A plaque is placed (rightside of the front door) on a house in the hamlet of Koulen which is part of municipality of Voerendaal near Valkenburg.
Words on the plaque are:
P. Spogenets U.S.A.
Killed in action 17 September 1944
As a friend and hero for god and fatherland.

More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
https://www.oldhickory30th.com/Arno%20Lasoe%20Work%20Siegfried%20Line.htm
Viviano,
Sam
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-16
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - war victim - Sam Viviano was one of the six soldiers of the Old Hickory Division who were killed in action during the liberation of Valkenburg and its surroundings.
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg

Angehörige der amerikanischen Armee
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Angehörige der amerikanischen Armee

Menschen die während des Zweiten Weltkrieges in und rund Valkenburg eine Rolle gespielt haben. Die meisten kommen in der Widerstandsgeschichte unserer Stadt vor. Klicken Sie in diesem Fall bei diesem Namen auf Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg.
Diese Liste ist alles andere als komplett.US flag 48 stars

† ✡ † Jüd*innen Holocaust Alliierte Soldaten. USA RAF NL sold Verzet früher Widerstand L.O. K.P. Gemeinde Taucherchefs Kuriere gelegentlicher Widerstand Untergetauchte Valkenburg+ Valkenburg Berg en Terblijt Schin op Geul IJzeren Sibbe Margraten Houthem-St.Gerlach Geulhem Hulsberg Houthem Klimmen Meerssen Heerlen Polizei Geistliche NSB / NSDAP




Die in und rundum Valkenburg gefallenen Amerikaner

Obwohl zwischen dem 14. und 17. September 1944 in und um Valkenburg heftige Kämpfe stattfanden, wurden „nur“ sechs Soldaten der Old Hickory Division getötet. Es sind Quentin Begore und Sam Viviano am sechszehnten, Henri Morgan, John Reeves, Cleaver Buckler und Peter Spoganetz am siebzehnten. Alle sechs gehörten zum 119. Regiment, dem Teil der Old-Hickory-Division, der Valkenburg befreit hat. Sie wurden 1994 von Albert Widdershoven in der Gemeindehöhle verewigt. Foto von J.P. Wyers auf der Website über die 30th Infantry Division Old Hickory.

Die US-Amerikaner, die Valkenburg und Umgebung befreit haben, gehörten der 119. Infanteriedivision an, auch Old Hickory Division genannt, dem damit verbundenen 743. Panzerbataillon, und weiter westlich zur zweiten Panzerdivision Hell on Wheels (siehe auch Pinterest).14 Pers.
Begore,
Quentin K.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-16
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Quentin Begore war einer der sechs Soldaten der Old Hickory Division, die bei der Befreiung von Valkenburg und Umgebung gefallen sind.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Blum,
Joseph
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-17
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Jan Diederen schreibt in Mijn oorlog en bevrijding: „Frau Huntjens, die zu dieser Zeit am Nieuweweg lebte, hat gesehen wie vier Soldaten getötet wurden, als ihr Jeep am Sonntagmorgen, dem 17. September 1944, auf einem Feld am Fuße des Emmaberg auf eine Landmine fuhr.
Laut dem ehemaligen Luftwaffenoffizier John Gouverne, der in seinem Buch US-Army in Zuid-Limburg die Opfer vom 17. September der zweiten US Panzerdivision (Second Armored Division auf Pinterest) aufzählt, ging es um: William George, Chester Harrington, Joseph Blum und Frank Manis. Harrington ist in Henri Chapelle begraben, die drei anderen sind nach Amerika zurückgekehrt.“
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Buckler,
Cleaver
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-17
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Cleaver Buckler war einer der sechs Soldaten der Old Hickory Division, die bei der Befreiung von Valkenburg und Umgebung gefallen sind.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Gathin,
Amos jr.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-16
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Mitglied der Charly Kompanie des 743. Panzerbataillons in Panzer Nr. 0-18 starb an Verletzungen. Er und Clifton Keith derselben Kompanie sind jetzt in den USA begraben. Das 743. Panzerbataillon war mit der 119. Infanteriedivision verbunden.
Short story of the 743rd Tank Battalion in the vicinity of South-Limburg: „Gleichzeitig zog die Charlie Kompanie nach Osten nach Oud-Valkenburg, wo sich alliierte Truppen befinden sollten. Stattdessen wurde das Dorf noch von deutscher Infanterie gehalten. Als feindliches Artilleriefeuer einsetzte, bauten die Panzer in Valkenburg eine Verteidigung auf. Das 743. Panzerbataillon hatte erneut Verluste durch feindliches Artilleriefeuer. Während die 30. Infanteriedivision zusammen mit dem 125. Kavallerie-Aufklärungsgeschwader auf der Straße von Maastricht nach Aachen vorrückte, feuerten die Deutschen mit Granaten in hoher Konzentration.“
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
George,
William
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-17
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Jan Diederen schreibt in Mijn oorlog en bevrijding: „Frau Huntjens, die zu dieser Zeit am Nieuweweg lebte, hat gesehen wie vier Soldaten getötet wurden, als ihr Jeep am Sonntagmorgen, dem 17. September 1944, auf einem Feld am Fuße des Emmaberg auf eine Landmine fuhr.
Laut dem ehemaligen Luftwaffenoffizier John Gouverne, der in seinem Buch US-Army in Zuid-Limburg die Opfer vom 17. September der zweiten US Panzerdivision (Second Armored Division auf Pinterest) aufzählt, ging es um: William George, Chester Harrington, Joseph Blum und Frank Manis. Harrington ist in Henri Chapelle begraben, die drei anderen sind nach Amerika zurückgekehrt.“
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Harrington,
Chester
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-17
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Jan Diederen schreibt in Mijn oorlog en bevrijding: „Frau Huntjens, die zu dieser Zeit am Nieuweweg lebte, hat gesehen wie vier Soldaten getötet wurden, als ihr Jeep am Sonntagmorgen, dem 17. September 1944, auf einem Feld am Fuße des Emmaberg auf eine Landmine fuhr.
Laut dem ehemaligen Luftwaffenoffizier John Gouverne, der in seinem Buch US-Army in Zuid-Limburg die Opfer vom 17. September der zweiten US Panzerdivision (Second Armored Division auf Pinterest) aufzählt, ging es um: William George, Chester Harrington, Joseph Blum und Frank Manis. Harrington ist in Henri Chapelle begraben, die drei anderen sind nach Amerika zurückgekehrt.“
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Hilleque,
Robert (Bob)
∗ 0000-00-00
Chicago?
† 2008-07-30
Chicago?
USA, Old Hickory - Überlebende(r) - Bob Hilleque war der einzige der A-Kompanie des 119. Regiments, 30th US Infantry Division Old Hickory, der den Krieg überlebt hat.
Am 14. September 1944 führte Pierre Schunck einen Old Hickory Voraustrupp (in einigen offenen Jeeps mit Maschinengewehren) auf dem Daelhemmerweg von Sibbe runter zum Grendelplein, durch die Grendelpoort in die Muntstraat und tiefer nach Valkenburg hinein. Schunck saß auf der Motorhaube des ersten Jeeps. Einer von den Amis hinter ihm war Bob Hilleque. Eine lebenslängliche Freundschaft war das Ergebnis.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Keith,
Clifton
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-15
Oud-Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Mitglied der Charly Kompanie des 743. Panzerbataillons in Panzer Nr. 0-18 starb an Verletzungen. Er und Amos Gathin jr. derselben Kompanie sind jetzt in den USA begraben. Das 743. Panzerbataillon war mit der 119. Infanteriedivision verbunden.
Short story of the 743rd Tank Battalion in the vicinity of South-Limburg: „Gleichzeitig zog die Charlie Kompanie nach Osten nach Oud-Valkenburg, wo sich alliierte Truppen befinden sollten. Stattdessen wurde das Dorf noch von deutscher Infanterie gehalten. Als feindliches Artilleriefeuer einsetzte, bauten die Panzer in Valkenburg eine Verteidigung auf. Das 743. Panzerbataillon hatte erneut Verluste durch feindliches Artilleriefeuer. Während die 30. Infanteriedivision zusammen mit dem 125. Kavallerie-Aufklärungsgeschwader auf der Straße von Maastricht nach Aachen vorrückte, feuerten die Deutschen mit Granaten in hoher Konzentration.“
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
http://www.bensavelkoul.nl/743rd_tank_battalion.htm
Lasch,
Theodore F
∗ 0000-00-00
Oakland County, Mich
† 1945-04-10
Vilt (Valkenburg)
USA, Kriegsopfer - Das letzte Kriegsopfer in and around Valkenburg. Dienstnummer T-063074, diente in der 364th Fighter Group, 385th Fighter Squadron. Er crashte in einem Mustang P-51 Lucky Lady VI, #4415019 auf einer Mission nach Oranienburg in der Nähe von Berlin und ist begraben auf dem Kriegsfriedhof bei Margraten (Fach K Reihe 8 Grab 6)
Dekoriert mit: ★ Air Medal ★ Purple Heart.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
https://www.honorstates.org/index.php?id=61376
Manis,
Frank
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-10-17
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Jan Diederen schreibt in Mijn oorlog en bevrijding: „Frau Huntjens, die zu dieser Zeit am Nieuweweg lebte, hat gesehen wie vier Soldaten getötet wurden, als ihr Jeep am Sonntagmorgen, dem 17. September 1944, auf einem Feld am Fuße des Emmaberg auf eine Landmine fuhr.
Laut dem ehemaligen Luftwaffenoffizier John Gouverne, der in seinem Buch US-Army in Zuid-Limburg die Opfer vom 17. September der zweiten US Panzerdivision (Second Armored Division auf Pinterest) aufzählt, ging es um: William George, Chester Harrington, Joseph Blum und Frank Manis. Harrington ist in Henri Chapelle begraben, die drei anderen sind nach Amerika zurückgekehrt.“
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Morgan,
Henry E.
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-16
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Einer der sechs US-Soldaten des 119. Regiments der Old-Hickory-Division, die während der Befreiung von Valkenburg gefallen sind, ist Henry Morgan. Drei Tage vor seinem Tod wurde er zufällig am Grendelplein vom ortsansässigen Fotografen Frans Hoffman fotografiert, auf einem Jeep und mit seiner unzertrennlichen Pfeife im Mund. Der einzige Überlebende der A-Kompanie, Bob Hilleque aus Chicago, erkannte ihn auf dem Foto. Henry Morgan starb am 16. September 1944 im Wohnzimmer eines Hauses in der Reinaldstraat in Valkenburg. Er war Soldat 1. Klasse. Heute ist Henry Morgan auf dem amerikanischen Soldatenfriedhof in Henri Chapelle, Belgien, beigesetzt.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Reeves,
John
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-17
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - John Reeves war einer der sechs Soldaten der Old Hickory Division, die bei der Befreiung von Valkenburg und Umgebung gefallen sind.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Spoganetz,
Peter
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-17
Koulen, Voerendaal
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Gedenktafel

Peter Spoganetz (119. Inf. Rgt.) war einer der sechs Soldaten der Old Hickory Division, die bei der Befreiung von Valkenburg und Umgebung gefallen sind. Auf einem Haus im Weiler Koulen, Gemeinde Voerendaal bei Valkenburg befindet sich rechts neben der Haustür eine Gedenktafel.
Darauf steht:
P. Spogenets USA.
Getötet in Aktion am 17. September 1944
als Freund und Held für Gott und Vaterland.

Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
https://www.oldhickory30th.com/Arno%20Lasoe%20Work%20Siegfried%20Line.htm

Viviano,
Sam
∗ 0000-00-00
† 1944-09-16
Valkenburg
USA, Old Hickory - Kriegsopfer - Sam Viviano war einer der sechs Soldaten der Old Hickory Division, die bei der Befreiung von Valkenburg und Umgebung gefallen sind.
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg