The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
 

The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg

previousbacknext

Kerkrade

D’r Joep
Wikimedia

Dr. Kreijen, 1952


The April-May Strikes 1943

Communiqué of the High Führer of the SS and the police of the provinces of Limburg and North Brabant on the death sentences related to the strike in the mines from April to May 1943.
On July 1, 1946, a mass grave containing seven bodies was discovered in Wellerlooi (municipality of Bergen) on the Wellse Heide (now the nature reserve Landgoed de Hamert). There an oak wood cross stands on a red brick wall, the resistance monument, as a permanent reminder of the seven resistance fighters Han Boogerd, Bob Bouman, Leendert Brouwer, Pieter Ruyters, Reinier Savelsberg, Meindert Tempelaars and Servaas Toussaint, shot in connection with the strike in 1943.
In the Dutch coal mining area this strike was called miner’s strike. The actual mining area stretched from Geleen to Kerkrade, but a not inconsiderable number of miners lived outside of it, for example in Valkenburg. In Maastricht, the strike was initiated by government employees. Later bank staff joined in. When the postal workers also wanted to go on strike, the members of the nazi party NSB present forced them to continue working with all sorts of threats. Long queues of people immediately formed in front of all the counters, wanting to buy one single 1-cent stamp. This way the post office was closed too. The factories also joined.
In the beginning there was a party atmosphere. People flocked to the pubs and didn’t suspect (or didn’t want to think about it) that the occupiers would of course not tolerate this and that there would be victims. These events made it clear that attempts to lure the Dutch with the status of an “Aryan brother nation” had failed.
The miners’ strike was part of the strikes of April-May 1943. The background was the return of Dutch soldiers to captivity, planned by the occupiers, to be put to work in the German war industry. They were the transition to a more massive resistance movement throughout the Netherlands, including the province of Limburg. The strikes were brutally suppressed, but the resistance organizations gained more new members (perhaps even because of this?). For the majority of Dutch Jews, however, it was already too late. :(

https://www.openstreetmap.org/relation/406420#map=10/50.8747/6.0443

Kerkrade is the easternmost town in the Dutch mining district. Coal mining started here. It played such an important role that a statue has been dedicated to it: D’r Joep, see right. But this Joe has nothing directly to do with the miners’ strike.
Click on the image to the left, to read more about this item.

During the liberation of South Limburg, the advance of the Allies came to a halt for a time. Kerkrade was suddenly front city and the population of East Kerkrade had to be evacuated. Because the Germans had confiscated all vehicles, this was done with wheelbarrows and the like. Doctor Kreijen of the Sint-Jozef Hospital managed by negotiation, also to get the remaining patients and staff through a corridor to liberated territory. Click on his photo to read more about it.


Liberated: 1944-10-05

Kerkrade – 7 pers.   ⇒All the fallen resistance people in Limburg
Creusen,
Wiel
oom Kees
∗ 1893-07-31
Kerkrade
† 1945-05-31
Bergen-Belsen
Kerkrade - - press - RVV - Jan Willem Creusen was a civil servant at the Distribution Office and former chairman of the local   …
wall: left, row 26-01
Hillebrand,
Johann
∗ 1922-07-12
Herzogenrath (D)
† 1944-06-10
Liège
Kerkrade - Belgium - Miner in Belgium. Belonged there to the resistance organization Armée Secrète (A.S.) or &nb …
wall: left, row 25-01
Horstmann,
Henderich
Hein
∗ 1902-01-30
Börger
† 1943-05-04
Maastricht
Kerkrade - april/may strike - Miner Henderich Horstmann from Kerkrade participated in the mine strike at the Domaniale Mine and was arrested there. When transferred from prison to the courtroom on 4 May 1943, he tried to escape, but was hit by a bullet in his arm. On order from the commanding officer, he was shot dead in the& …
wall: left, row 25-02
Kerres,
Hub.
∗ 1924-06-30
Kerkrade
† 1944-08-30
Buchenwald
Kerkrade - Student - Hubert Joseph Kerres was a student and Engelandvaarder (England sailer). As such he is listed on the wall plaque in the chapel at the  …
wall: middel, row 13-02
Lochtman,
Hein
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
Kerkrade - Maastricht - L.O. - priest - Hein Lochtman ?
wall: left, row 25-03
Lochtman,
Hein
∗ 1911-09-02
Kerkrade
† 1945-02-27
Bergen Belsen
Kerkrade - Maastricht - L.O. - priest - Vicar in Limmel from 1940 and member of LO in Maastricht. He hid people in hiding. On May 10, 1944, he was arrested as a result of betrayal by Aldegonda (Gonnie) Zeguers-Boere and so mistreated that …
wall: left, row 33-04
Ommeren, van
Godefridus
Frits
∗ 1919-11-14
Venlo
† 1944-09-11
Heerlen
Kerkrade - Apprentice train driver with the Dutch railroad company. A few days before the liberation, he was part of a group of people waiting for an extra portion of flour at the Welter mill in Heerlen. But because of the ban on gathering, a suddenly appearing group of about 20 nervous German soldiers opened< …
wall: left, row 25-04

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg

voriges Bildbacknächstes Bild

Kerkrade

D’r Joep
Wikimedia

Dr. Kreijen, 1952


Die April-Mai-Streiks 1943

Bekanntmachung des „Höheren SS- und Polizeiführers“ der Provinzen Limburg und Nordbrabant über die Todesurteile im Zusammenhang mit dem Bergarbeiterstreik.
Am 1. Juli 1946 wurde in Wellerlooi (Gemeinde Bergen) in der Wellse Heide (heute das Naturschutzgebiet Landgoed de Hamert) ein Grab mit sieben Leichen entdeckt. Dort steht auf einer roten Backsteinmauer ein Eichenholzkreuz, das Widerstandsdenkmal, als bleibende Erinnerung an die sieben Widerstandskämpfer Han Boogerd, Bob Bouman, Leendert Brouwer, Pieter Ruyters, Reinier Savelsberg, Meindert Tempelaars und Servaas Toussaint, erschossen im Zusammenhang mit diesem Streik von 1943.
Sie stehen auch für die vielen Streikenden – gefallen oder nicht – die für immer anonym bleiben werden.
Im Bergbaugebiet wurde dieser Streik Bergbaustreik genannt. Das eigentliche Bergbaugebiet erstreckte sich von Geleen bis Kerkrade, aber eine nicht unerhebliche Anzahl von Bergleuten lebte außerhalb davon, zum Beispiel in Valkenburg. In Maastricht ging der Streik von Angestellten der Behörden aus. Später schloss sich das Bankpersonal an. Als auch die Mitarbeiter der Post streiken wollten, zwangen die anwesenden Mitglieder der NSB sie mit allerlei Drohungen zur Weiterarbeit. Sofort bildeten sich vor allen Schaltern lange Menschenschlangen, die eine 1-Cent-Marke kaufen wollten. So musste zum Beispiel die Post trotzdem streiken. Auch die Fabriken schlossen sich an.
Am Anfang herrschte Feierstimmung. Die Menschen strömten in die Kneipen und ahnten nicht (oder wollten nicht daran denken), dass die Besatzer dies natürlich nicht dulden würden und es zu Opfern kommen würde. Durch diese Ereignisse wurde klar, dass die Versuche, die Niederländer mit dem Status eines „arischen Brudervolkes“ zu ködern, gescheitert waren.
Der Bergarbeiterstreik war Teil der April-Mai-Streiks von 1943 in den Niederlanden. Hintergrund war die geplante Rückführung der niederländischen Soldaten in die Kriegsgefangenschaft durch die Besatzer, um sie in der deutschen Rüstungsindustrie einzusetzen. Die Streiks bildeten den Übergang zu einer größeren Widerstandsbewegung im ganzen Land, auch in Limburg. Der Streik wurde zwar brutal niedergeschlagen, aber die Widerstandsorganisationen bekamen (vielleicht sogar deshalb?) mehr Neuzugänge. Für die Mehrzahl der niederländischen Juden war es da allerdings schon zu spät. :(

https://www.openstreetmap.org/relation/406420#map=10/50.8747/6.0443

Kerkrade ist die östlichste Stadt des niederländischen Bergbaureviers. Hier begann der Kohleabbau. Er spielte eine so wichtige Rolle, dass ihm eine Statue gewidmet wurde: D’r Joep, siehe rechts. Aber dieser Jupp hat nichts direkt mit dem Bergarbeiterstreik zu tun.

Während der Befreiung Südlimburgs wurde der Vormarsch der Alliierten zeitweise gestoppt. Kerkrade war plötzlich Frontstadt und die Bevölkerung von Ost-Kerkrade musste evakuiert werden. Da die Deutschen alle Fahrzeuge beschlagnahmt hatten, wurde dies mit Schubkarren und ähnlichem erledigt. Doktor Kreijen vom Sint-Jozef-Krankenhaus gelang es durch Verhandlungen, auch die zurückgebliebenen Patienten und Mitarbeiter durch einen Korridor in das befreite Gebiet zu bringen. Klicken Sie auf sein Foto, um mehr darüber zu erfahren.


Befreit: 1944-10-05

Kerkrade – 7 Pers.   ⇒Alle Gefallenen des Limburger Widerstandes
Creusen,
Wiel
oom Kees
∗ 1893-07-31
Kerkrade
† 1945-05-31
Bergen-Belsen
Kerkrade - - Presse - RVV - Jan Willem Creusen war Beamter auf dem Zuteilungsamt und ehemaliger Ortsvorsitzender der  …
Wand: links, Zeile 26-01
Hillebrand,
Johann
∗ 1922-07-12
Herzogenrath (D)
† 1944-06-10
Liège
Kerkrade - Belgien - Bergmann. Mitglied der belgischen Widerstandsorganisation Armée Secrète (A.S.) oder   …
Wand: links, Zeile 25-01
Horstmann,
Henderich
Hein
∗ 1902-01-30
Börger
† 1943-05-04
Maastricht
Kerkrade - April-Mai-Streik - Der Bergmann Henderich Horstmann aus Kerkrade beteiligte sich am Bergarbeiterstreik an der Domaniale Mijn und wurde dabei verhaftet. Als er am 4. Mai 1943 vom Gefängnis in den Gerichtssaal überführt wurde, versuchte er zu fliehen, wurde aber von einer Kugel in den Arm getroffen. Auf Befehl des …
Wand: links, Zeile 25-02
Kerres,
Hub.
∗ 1924-06-30
Kerkrade
† 1944-08-30
Buchenwald
Kerkrade - Student*in - Hubert Joseph Kerres war Student und Engelandvaarder (Englandfahrer). Als solcher ist er aufgeführt auf der Wandtafel in der Kapelle auf dem  …
Wand: mittel, Zeile 13-02
Lochtman,
Hein
∗ 0000-00-00
† 0000-00-00
Kerkrade - Maastricht - L.O. - Geistliche*r - Hein Lochtman ?
Wand: links, Zeile 25-03
Lochtman,
Hein
∗ 1911-09-02
Kerkrade
† 1945-02-27
Bergen Belsen
Kerkrade - Maastricht - L.O. - Geistliche*r - Kaplan in Limmel ab 1940 und Mitglied der LO in Maastricht. Versteckt UntertaucherInnen. Am 10. Mai 1944 wurde er verhaftet als Folge von Verrat durch Aldegonda (Gonnie) Zeguers-Boere und derart& …
Wand: links, Zeile 33-04
Ommeren, van
Godefridus
Frits
∗ 1919-11-14
Venlo
† 1944-09-11
Heerlen
Kerkrade - Lehrling Lokführer bei der niederl. Eisenbahngesellschaft. Einige Tage vor der Befreiung gehörte er zu einer Gruppe von Menschen, die an der Weltermühle in Heerlen auf eine Extraportion Mehl warteten. Doch wegen des Versammlungsverbots eröffnete eine plötzlich auftauchende Gruppe von etwa 20 …
Wand: links, Zeile 25-04