The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
 

The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg

previousbacknext

Knokploegen (K.P.)



Five raids on distribution offices in only one week

The illegally distributed newspaper De stem van Londen (The Voice of London) wrote on 19 July 1944 on page 2:

RAIDS.
From our Amsterdam correspondent.
In the week from 20 to 27 June, 5 raids were committed at distribution offices:
1) On 6/20/44 at

and many other coupons.
3) On the same day the distribution office in Valkenburg-Houthem was attacked. They arrived by car, the policeman on duty had provided the keys and pointed the way. He disappeared later with the robbers. (Dutch policemen, who will follow!) The following were taken: 78000 ration coupons of reserve, 38000 ration coupons of confectionery, 71000 ration coupons of legumes and thousands and thousands of ration coupons of almost every kind, including several hundred D.S.K (main cards) and almost 10,000 insert sheets.
4) The day after…

The Knokploegen (KP, Combat Groups) were the armed teams of the LO. Their task was not military (apart from acts of sabotage at the end of the war, when the Allies approached) but support for the people in hiding such as providing ration stamps or identity documents, if there was no other way to provide them (See the resistance by (mostly municipal) officials). In South Limburg, the various KPs have joined forces by forming one single group, the Knokploeg Zuid-Limburg. They had their headquarters on the farm of C.J.H. Janssen in Ulestraten. There was also a national organisation under the name Landelijke Knokploegen (L.K.P.).
Here are some links, unfortunately all just to Dutch websites:

Knokploegen (K.P.) – 40 pers.   ⇒All the fallen resistance people in Limburg
Ahout,
Ger
∗ 1919-12-18
Deurne
† 1945-02-17
Bergen (L)
L.O. - K.P. - The outskirts of Limburg - Zwarte Plak - Gerardus Wilhelmus Johannes Petrus Ahout was a member of the LO-KP in Deurne. During the liberation of the south of the Netherlands, the Regiment …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.03-01
Berckel, van
Karel C.
∗ 1892-08-19
Delft
† 1944-09-05
Kamp Vught
Heerlen - L.O. - K.P. - press - Surgeon and chef de clinique at the St. Jozef hospital in Heerlen. He was one of those who created there an important resistance center and the beginning of the LO in the Heerlen district, from where the connection with Valkenburg was also made. Like almost all people of the Limburg L.O. he was a …
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Karel C. van Berckel op de lijst van personen die tijdens de bezetting belangrijk waren voor Valkenburg.
wall: left, row 15-03
Berkhout,
Jacob H.
∗ 1904-08-12
Culemborg
† 1945-05-31
Malchow
Heythuysen - L.O. - K.P. - Berkhout, an electrical engineer, had taken in a Jewish Ms. Prijs and her two children at his home. Someone who knew about it betrayed this in order to get an arrested friend released. Berkhout and his three guests were arrested on June 10, 1944. The mother died in a German concentration camp, her
wall: left, row 22-05
Bleijs (Bleys),
Ludovicus (Ludo) Adrianus
Lodewijk
∗ 1906-10-17
Tilburg
† 1945-08-15
Gorinchem
Roermond - L.O. - K.P. - Ludo Bleijs’ surname is also spelled Bleys, and sometimes Louis is given as his first name. His resistance name was Lodewijk. During the war he was a member of the Redemptorist monastery in Roermond and together with his fellow  …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.04-03
Bruijn, de
Fredericus Arnoldus Franciscus
Frits
∗ 1920-10-04
Asten
† 1944-09-05
America (L)
K.P. - The outskirts of Limburg - RVV - Zwarte Plak - The grocer Frits de Bruijn lived in Asten. Son of the grocers Petrus Johannes Gijsbertus de Bruijn and Johanna Maria Sanders. Unmarried. Roman Catholic. Member of resistance, belonging to the Knokploeg-Bakel and member of the pilot center De Zwarte Plak in the Peel, whose members were engaged in& …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Coenen,
Sjeng
∗ 1915-01-10
Simpelveld
† 1944-09-05
Valkenburg
Simpelveld - L.O. - K.P. - person in hiding - carillon - Former subdistrictleader of Simpelveld. Cammaert: “After the betrayal of Wittem, J.H. Coenen from Simpelveld and W.J. Francotte from Vaals, who had worked for the illegal magazine Je Maintiendrai in Amsterdam until the summer of 1944, joined the KP. They participated in the raid on the …
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Sjeng Coenen op de lijst van personen die tijdens de bezetting belangrijk waren voor Valkenburg.
wall: right, row 16-03
Dobbe,
Theo
Hans
∗ 1901-03-19
Amsterdam
† 1944-09-05
Dieren, gem. Rheden
Nijmegen - early resistance - K.P. - press - The outskirts of Limburg - In his civil profession, Theo Dobbe was a chief representative and active throughout the Netherlands. In the southern part of the country he became the organizer of the LKP, the umbrella organization of the Knokploegen (commandos). In 1943 he became head of the special unit Opruimingsdienst

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.04-10
Eijnden, van den
Martien Ant.
Watje, Tinuske
∗ 1917-02-04
Venray
† 1944-09-05
Horst-America
Horst - K.P. - The outskirts of Limburg - RVV - Zwarte Plak - Tinus was a butcher and lived in Zeilberg in the farm Crisishoeve (municipality of Deurne). He was a member of the "Pilotencentrum De Zwarte Plak" near America, on the Limburg side of the Peel [6]. There are two stories about the last day of Tinus and his friend  …
wall: left, row 24-01
Evers,
Johannes Hendrikus
Jan
∗ 1917-05-03
Oosterhout (Valburg)
† 1944-07-21
Leusderheide
Nijmegen - early resistance - K.P. - press - The outskirts of Limburg - Jan Evers ran a car repair shop, was married and father of one child. They lived in Nijmegen.
He began typing and distributing illegal newspapers, including Vrij Nederland, in 1941 [1.1].
Besides that, the website of Kamp Vught (German: Konzentrationslager Herzogenbusch) states in his< …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Francotte,
Joep
∗ 1920-12-29
Vaals
† 1944-09-05
Valkenburg
Vaals - L.O. - K.P. - press - person in hiding - carillon - Cammaert: “After the betrayal of Wittem, J.H. Coenen from Simpelveld and W.J. Francotte from Vaals, who had worked for the illegal magazine Je Maintiendrai in Amsterdam until the summer of 1944, joined the KP. They participated in the raid on the jail of Maastricht on September 2.” They …
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Joep Francotte op de lijst van personen die tijdens de bezetting belangrijk waren voor Valkenburg.
wall: right, row 25-05
Frencken /Frenken,
Jacobus Petrus Hubertus
Jacques
∗ 1921-11-07
Urmond
† 1944-06-15
Bloemendaal
Maasniel - K.P. - A. Reulen and J.P.H. Frencken already had a distinguished career as resisters when they were asked to participate in the Knokploeg Roermond (Roermond Command Group) in December 1943. They transferred their area of operations to North Holland in&n …
wall: left, row 28-02
Guelen,
Johan
∗ 1918-10-01
Gennep
† 1944-09-08
Kamp Vught
Gennep - K.P. - carillon - Johannes Hendrikus Guelen was a machinist and worker in a paper mill. He belonged to the sabotage group KP-Noord Limburg (KP Gennep and Oeffelt). See also Jan Hendriks. Arrested in a shootout with the police. Guelen and the Hendriks brothers were …
wall: left, row 10-03
Hekking,
Henri A.
Hens
∗ 1923-09-21
† 1945-04-16
Nijmegen - L.O. - K.P. - - The outskirts of Limburg - Henny Hekking was a member of the Knokploeg (combat group) in Nijmegen, together with, among others, his friends Jules Moormann, George Muskens and  …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Hendriks,
Hendrikus Fredericus
Hein /Harrie
∗ 1920-02-20
Gennep
† 1944-09-08
Vught
Gennep - K.P. - Leather processor. He and his brother Jan belonged to the sabotage squadHe was a member of the sabotage group KP-Noord Limburg (KP Gennep & Oeffelt). This resistance group took action, among other things, against black market traders. The brothers
wall: left, row 11-01
Hendriks,
Jan J.
∗ 1915-07-21
Gennep
† 1944-09-08
Vught
Gennep - K.P. - He was a member of the sabotage group KP-Noord Limburg (KP Gennep & Oeffelt). The resistance group took action, among other things, against black market traders. Arrested in a shootout with the police. Jan Hendriks, his brother Hein /Harry and  …
wall: left, row 10-04
Henssen,
Frans J.
∗ 1918-12-11
Simpelveld
† 1944-08-08
Simpelveld
Simpelveld - K.P. - Frans Henssen was orphaned at an early age. He was a machine fitter, and during the invasion of the German army he served in an anti-aircraft battery. During the war he married Anny Schmetz. The couple had their son Wen in 1941, who was given the first name of the American president Franklin as his< …
wall: right, row 17-02
Hoebers,
Peter
∗ 1920-07-09
Helden
† 1944-08-10
Helden
Helden - K.P. - Peter Johannes Jacobus Hoebers was a blacksmith.
“Early on Thursday morning, August 10, Nitsch, assisted by four members of the Ordnungspolizei, threw Peter Hoebers and Peter Korsten …
wall: left, row 20-04
Janssen,
Cor
∗ 1918-02-22
Sevenum
† 1944-10-07
Beesel
Beesel - L.O. - K.P. - press - person in hiding - Cor Janssen was a farmer. [1#2]
In the spring of 1944, an armed group (knokploeg or K.P.) Reuver was formed by B. Verstappen. Members were also J.H. Goossens, Cor Janssen, M.J. Pereira, a …
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
wall: left, row 02-05
Knottenbelt,
Franciscus Hendrikus Gerhardus Maria
Frans
∗ 1921-08-04
Enschede
† 1944-07-09
Boven-Leeuwen
L.O. - K.P. - The outskirts of Limburg - Deputy manager [2] Frans Knottenbelt was killed in a firefight with landwachters (translated: rural guards, an auxiliary police composed of Dutch fascists) [4] near Leeuwen [1] on the night of July 8-9, 1944. In a letter to the editor of the Veluwsch Dagblad, resistance comrades reported that & …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Kuerten,
Antonius Johannes
Joop
∗ 1919-06-29
Nijmegen
† 1944-07-21
Vught
Nijmegen - K.P. - The outskirts of Limburg - Antonius Johannes Kürten was a machine fitter [4]. Arrested on February 21, 1945 in Hoorn by the Landwacht (auxiliar police consisting of Dutch nazis) during a food transport. [1]
We read about Joop Kuerten on Oorlogsdoden Nijmegen 1940 - 1945 [2]

Although Kuerten,< …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.

Lemson,
Henk
∗ 1924-04-15
Maastricht
† 1945-04-07
Makkum
Maastricht - early resistance - K.P. - Group Dresen - person in hiding - Hendrik Th. Lemson was a tax official (direct taxes, Maastricht) and belonged to the so called Belastinggroep Maastricht (A resistance group of mainly tax officials who continued the work of Group Dresen after it had been busted). He had to go into hiding and did so in Makkum (Frisia), where< …
wall: left, row 32-04
Linders,
Franciscus Gerardus Pierre
Frans
∗ 1918-05-03
Venlo
† 1944-09-12
Eindhoven
Geleen - K.P. - police - Pierre was a policeman in Geleen. In early 1944 he was transferred to Eindhoven, where he joined a resistance group that, among other things, transported weapons for the underground, the Partizanen Actie Nederland. His resistance name was Frans. On September 12, 1944, he was shot in an ambush …
wall: left, row 09-04
Merlijn,
Pieter L.
Leij
∗ 1920-12-31
Ede
† 1945-03-12
Amsterdam
Nijmegen - K.P. - The outskirts of Limburg - Pieter was a machine fitter [6] and he was a member of the Knokploeg (combat group) in Nijmegen. He participated in raids on distribution offices, in attempts to liberate imprisoned resistance fighters, etc. After the liberation of Nijmegen, he shifted his operational focus to the still occupied& …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Meulenberg,
Edmundus Johannes
Eddy
∗ 1919-01-26
Nijmegen
† 1945-07-04
Nijmegen
dutch soldier - early resistance - L.O. - K.P. - The outskirts of Limburg - Eddy Meulenberg was a conscript sergeant at the time of the surrender of the Dutch Army in May 1940. He was a member of the Nijmegen Knokploeg (combat group), together with his friends Jules Moormann,  …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Mooren,
Antonius Lodewijk Joseph
Toon
∗ 1923-03-19
Vierlingsbeek
† 1945-03-05
Mauthausen
L.O. - K.P. - person in hiding - The outskirts of Limburg - LO-Vierlingsbeek. Also: KP (Commando group). Arrested on 5.12.44 in Venlo, during a raid on the address where he was in hiding." (Het grote gebod, p. 327) A detailed story about Toon on oorlogsgravenstichting.nl, source: Dorpsraad Vierlingsbeek: "Papa, was sind das für Tote". Brochure& …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.03-04
Moormann,
Julius Ferdinand
Jules
∗ 1924-04-12
Nijmegen
† 1944-05-17
??
Nijmegen - K.P. - Student - The outskirts of Limburg - During a failed liquidation attempt on April 14, 1944, Julius Ferdinand Moormann was arrested and George Muskens killed. [1]
Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl writes [4]:

Student Moormann, son of high school director Moormann, was< …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.

Muskens,
George
Arts
∗ 1923-07-02
Maastricht
† 1944-04-14
Arnhem
Maastricht - Nijmegen - K.P. - Student - George Muskens (Gregorius Johannes Arnoldus Maria Muskens) was a trainee sculptor. He was a member of the Nijmegen Knokploeg (armed unit) . [1][3]
In a failed liquidation attempt on 14/04/1944, Muskens was killed and Moormann was arrested. Quote oorlogsgravenstichting.nl [7]:

 …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Nieskens,
Hendrik Johan Marie
Harrie
∗ 1924-10-11
Kessel (L)
† 1944-12-30
Weert
Kessel - K.P. - Harrie was a member of the B.S. (Binnenlandse Strijdkrachten = Domestic Forces, an alliance of the three main Dutch resistance organizations officially formed on&nbs …
wall: left, row 26-03
Reichert,
Franciscus P.
Vrijn
∗ 1873-08-29
Delft
† 1944-09-14
Nijmegen
Nijmegen - L.O. - K.P. - - press - The outskirts of Limburg - A trader by profession as well as a courier for the LO-KP out of conviction. Also Vrij Nederland. On September 14, 1944 he was shot in his house because of his work for V.N. [2].
The following can be read on :oorlogsdodennijmegen.nl [4]:

Frans Reichert, married to …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.

Reulen,
Albert
Bèr
∗ 1916-11-12
Roermond
† 1944-06-10
Overveen
Roermond - L.O. - K.P. - Ordedienst - Butcher, factory worker and involved in the resistance groups Ordedienst (OD), Landelijke Organisatie voor Hulp aan Onderduikers (LO) and the KP (knokploegen, armed groups) of Roermond and later of Alkmaar, behause Reulen and J.P.H.&nbs …
wall: right, row 10-01
Rooyackers /Rooijackers,
Wim A.
∗ 1918-03-13
Heerlen
† 1944-09-05
Vught
Heerlen - early resistance - K.P. - press - police - Wilhelmus Antonius (Wim) Rooijackers was a trade correspondent and a member of the mine police. Almost from the beginning of the war he was involved with prisoners of war who had escaped from Germany. (Cammaert III, p. 217) He also was involved in a failed assassination attempt (Cammaert IV, p. 286) …
wall: left, row 17-03
Sambeek, van
Cornelis
Kees van Maas en Waal
∗ 1921-11-03
Nijmegen
† 1945-04-04
Gemen
L.O. - K.P. - The outskirts of Limburg - Kees had attended secondary school in Nijmegen and had contacts with resistance people there. In the area of the rivers Maas and Waal, west of Nijmegen, there were local and individual resistance activities. But joining a national organization was still pending. In January 1944, Van Sambeek was&n …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.03-16
Schaik, van
Jan H.
∗ 1922-04-10
Utrecht
† 1944-07-09
Boven-Leeuwen
L.O. - K.P. - Student - The outskirts of Limburg - Student (Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl [5]) and machinist (Honor Roll of the Fallen [1]). Died on the night of July 8-9, 1944, in a firefight with landwachters (land guards) [7] near Leeuwen [4]. In a letter to the editor of the Veluwsch Dagblad [2], resistance comrades reported that Van Schaik and

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Schiphorst,
Tom
∗ 1923-01-01
Heerlen
† 1945-03-09
Mauthausen
Heerlen - Nijmegen - L.O. - K.P. - press - Student - Student at the MTS (technical secondary school), living in Nijmegen. He took care of people in hiding and distributed illegal magazines. He also hid an American pilot. Member of the LO-Maas en Waal. On August 1, 1944 he was arrested and on March 9, 1945 he died in the Mauthausen concentration camp.
wall: left, row 18-01
Schortinghuis,
Jacobus Reinder
Bob (van de recherche)
∗ 1923-02-14
Delfzijl
† 1945-04-25
Hedel
Nijmegen - dutch soldier - K.P. - Student - The outskirts of Limburg - Koos Schortinghuis was a member of the Knokploeg (armed group) of Nijmegen [1] and as such was qualified to join the Dutch army after the liberation of Nijmegen. He died as a member of the Prinses Irene Brigade [2][7]. Rank: soldier OVW (Oorlogsvrijwilliger = war volunteer).
On the website&nbs …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Spillenaar Bilgen,
Marinus
∗ 1892-10-25
Salatiga, NOI
† 1944-09-04
Vught
Nijmegen - L.O. - K.P. - press - The outskirts of Limburg - The pharmacist’s son Marinus Spillenaar Bilgen, as director of the Gelderland paper mill in Nijmegen, supplied large quantities of paper to underground newspapers such as Trouw [2][5] and collected money for the NSF (Nationaal Steun Fonds, National Support Fund [1], financed the resistance). He …

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.
Ummels,
Anton Hubert
∗ 1894-07-15
Amby
† 1944-08-30
Belfeld
Beesel - Reuver - L.O. - K.P. - police - Antonius Hubertus Ummels had the rank of Opperwachtmeester in the police, which was generally associated with the function of station chief. He belonged to the LO in Reuver, moreover its combat group KP.
Dr. Fred Cammaert wrote (Chapter VIb p. 589 [1]): “A truck driver, who had …
wall: left, row 03-02
Verstappen,
Bernardus Petrus Lambertus
Ben
∗ 1914-04-23
Reuver
† 1944-08-30
Belfeld
Beesel - K.P. - In the spring of 1944, Ben Verstappen, 30 years old, merchant, residing at Keulscheweg 597 in Reuver, had formed a K.P.(combat group), which was affiliated with the regional K.P.-Noord-Limburg under the leadership of H.J.H. Bouten from Velden. Besides Verstappen, it included   …
wall: left, row 03-03
Verstrijden,
Ludovicus Franciscus
Loek
∗ 1918-11-11
Amsterdam
† 1942-05-11
Oranienburg
early resistance - K.P. - OD-Proces - Loek Verstrijden was an assistant purchaser [1][4] and trade correspondent. Co-organizer of the knokploeg (battle group) around Theo Dobbep. This resistance group of the first hour, which also worked closely with the Ordedienst (OD), was known for

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.-
Vries, de
Douwe
Hans
∗ 1920-03-17
Zevenhuizen
† 1947-09-13
Haulerwijk
Echt - L.O. - K.P. - police - Douwe de Vries was a policeman, he belonged to the LO and the KP in Echt. Died after the liberation, partly as a result of his resistance work. [1]
In the municipality of Ooststellingwerf, where he died after the war, he was a straw merchant.[2]
There is also his grave. [3]
Do you know more? Write us!

This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.03-12

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg

voriges Bildbacknächstes Bild

Kampfgruppen (K.P.)



Fünf Überfälle auf Zuteilungsämter in nur einer Woche

Die illegal verbreitete Zeitung De stem van Londen schrieb am 19. Juli 1944 auf Seite 2:

ÜBERFÄLLE

Von unserem Amsterdamer Korrespondenten.
In der Woche vom 20. bis 27. Juni wurden 5 Überfälle auf Zuteilungsämter durchgeführt:
1) Am 20.06.44 um

und viele andere Gutscheine.
3) Am selben Tag wurde das Zuteilungsamt in Valkenburg-Houthem überfallen. Sie kamen mit dem Auto an, der diensthabende Polizist hatte die Schlüssel zur Verfügung gestellt und wies den Weg. Er verschwand später mit den Räubern. (Niederländische Polizisten, der nächste bitte!) Es wurden 78000 Lebensmittelmarken Reserve, 38000 Lebensmittelmarken für Süßwaren, 71000 Marken für Hülsenfrüchte und Tausende und Abertausende von Marken jeder Art, darunter mehrere Hundert D.S.K. (Hauptkarten) und fast 10.000 Einlegeblätter erbeutet.
4) Am nächsten Tag wurde…

Die Knokploegen (K.P., Kampfgruppen) waren der bewaffnete arm van der LO. Ihre Aufgabe war nicht militärischer Natur (abgesehen von Sabotageakten beim Heranrücken der Alliierten), sondern die Unterstützung der Untergetauchtenhilfe wie z.B. die Beschaffung von Lebensmittelgutscheinen und Dokumente, wenn diese anders nicht zu bekomen waren (Siehe den Widerstand durch (meistens kommunalen) Beamten). In Süd-Limburg haben sich die verschiedenen Gruppen zur Knokploeg Zuid-Limburg zusammengeschlossen. Sie hatten ihren Hauptsitz auf dem Hof von C.J.H. Janssen in Ulestraten. Es gab auch einen nationalen Verband unter dem Namen Landelijke Knokploegen (L.K.P.)
Es folgen ein paar Links, leider alle nur auf Niederländische Websites:

Kampfgruppen (K.P.) – 40 Pers.   ⇒Alle Gefallenen des Limburger Widerstandes
Ahout,
Ger
∗ 1919-12-18
Deurne
† 1945-02-17
Bergen (L)
L.O. - K.P. - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Zwarte Plak - Gerardus Wilhelmus Johannes Petrus Ahout war Mitglied der LO-KP in Deurne. Während der Befreiung des Südens der Niederlande wurden am 21. September 1944 die
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.03-01
Berckel, van
Karel C.
∗ 1892-08-19
Delft
† 1944-09-05
Kamp Vught
Heerlen - L.O. - K.P. - Presse - Chirurg und Klinikdirektor im St. Jozef-Krankenhaus am Putgraaf in Heerlen. Er war einer von denen, die dort ein wichtiges Widerstandszentrum und den Beginn der L.O. im Distrikt Heerlen schufen, von wo aus auch die Verbindung mit Valkenburg hergestellt wurde. Wie fast alle Menschen der Limburger& …
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Karel C. van Berckel op de lijst van personen die tijdens de bezetting belangrijk waren voor Valkenburg.
Wand: links, Zeile 15-03
Berkhout,
Jacob H.
∗ 1904-08-12
Culemborg
† 1945-05-31
Malchow
Heythuysen - L.O. - K.P. - Der Elektroingenieur Berkhout hatte eine jüdische Frau Prijs und ihre beiden Kinder bei sich zu Hause aufgenommen. Jemand, der davon wusste, hat das verraten, um eine verhaftete Freundin zu bekommen Berkhout und seine drei Gäste wurden am 10. Juni 1944 verhaftet. Die Mutter starb in einem  …
Wand: links, Zeile 22-05
Bleijs (Bleys),
Ludovicus (Ludo) Adrianus
Lodewijk
∗ 1906-10-17
Tilburg
† 1945-08-15
Gorinchem
Roermond - L.O. - K.P. - Der Nachname von Ludo Bleijs wird auch Bleys geschrieben, als Vorname wird manchmal auch Louis angegeben. Sein Widerstandsname war Lodewijk. Während des Krieges war er Mitglied im Redemptoristenkloster in Roermond und zusammen mit seinem Mitbruder  …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.04-03
Bruijn, de
Fredericus Arnoldus Franciscus
Frits
∗ 1920-10-04
Asten
† 1944-09-05
America (L)
K.P. - Der Außenrand von Limburg - RVV - Zwarte Plak - Frits de Bruijn wohnte in Asten als Sohn von Petrus Johannes Gijsbertus de Bruijn und Johanna Maria Sanders, in deren Lebensmittelladen er mitarbeitete. Unverheiratet. Römisch-katholisch. Mitglied des Widerstands, Mitglied des Knokploeg-Bakel und des Fliegerzentrums De Zwarte Plak in der Peel,&n …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Coenen,
Sjeng
∗ 1915-01-10
Simpelveld
† 1944-09-05
Valkenburg
Simpelveld - L.O. - K.P. - Untergetaucht - Glockenspiel - Typograf, ehemaliger Subdistriktsleiter von Simpelveld. Cammaert: „Nach dem Verrat von Wittem schlossen sich J.H. Coenen aus Simpelveld und W.J. Francotte aus Vaals, die bis zum Sommer 1944 für die illegale Zeitschrift Je Maintiendrai in Amsterdam gearbeitet hatten, dem KP an. Sie nahmen …
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Sjeng Coenen op de lijst van personen die tijdens de bezetting belangrijk waren voor Valkenburg.
Wand: rechts, Zeile 16-03
Dobbe,
Theo
Hans
∗ 1901-03-19
Amsterdam
† 1944-09-05
Dieren, gem. Rheden
Nijmegen - früher Widerstand - K.P. - Presse - Der Außenrand von Limburg - In seinem „bürgerlichen“ Beruf war Theo Dobbe Hauptvertreter und landesweit tätig. Im südlichen Teil der Niederlande wurde er zum Organisator der LKP, der Dachorganisation der Knokploegen (Kommandotrupps). Im Jahr 1943 wurde er Leiter der Spezialeinheit Opruimingsdienst … …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.04-10
Eijnden, van den
Martien Ant.
Watje, Tinuske
∗ 1917-02-04
Venray
† 1944-09-05
Horst-America
Horst - K.P. - Der Außenrand von Limburg - RVV - Zwarte Plak - Tinus war Metzger und wohnte in Zeilberg im Bauernhof Crisishoeve (Gemeinde Deurne). Er war Mitglied des "Pilotencentrum De Zwarte Plak" in der Nähe von America, auf der Limburger Seite der Peel [6]. Es gibt zwei Geschichten über den letzten Tag von Tinus und seinem Freund   …
Wand: links, Zeile 24-01
Evers,
Johannes Hendrikus
Jan
∗ 1917-05-03
Oosterhout (Valburg)
† 1944-07-21
Leusderheide
Nijmegen - früher Widerstand - K.P. - Presse - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Jan Evers betrieb eine Autowerkstatt, war verheiratet und Vater eines Kindes. Sie wohnten in Nijmegen.
Er begann 1941 mit dem Tippen und Verteilen illegaler Zeitungen, darunter Vrij Nederland. [1.1]
Auf der Website des Kamp Vught (deutsch: Konzentrationslager Herzogenbusch) heißt es

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Francotte,
Joep
∗ 1920-12-29
Vaals
† 1944-09-05
Valkenburg
Vaals - L.O. - K.P. - Presse - Untergetaucht - Glockenspiel - Cammaert: „Nach dem Verrat von Wittem hat J.H. Coenen aus Simpelveld und W.J. Francotte aus Vaals, die bis zum Sommer 1944 für die illegale Zeitschrift Je Maintiendrai in Amsterdam gearbeitet hatten, schlossen sich dem KP an. Sie nahmen am 2. September an dem Überfall des Gefängnissses …
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Joep Francotte op de lijst van personen die tijdens de bezetting belangrijk waren voor Valkenburg.
Wand: rechts, Zeile 25-05
Frencken /Frenken,
Jacobus Petrus Hubertus
Jacques
∗ 1921-11-07
Urmond
† 1944-06-15
Bloemendaal
Maasniel - K.P. - A. Reulen und J.P.H. Frencken hatten schon eine beachtliche Karriere als Widerständler, als sie im Dezember 1943 zur Teilnahme am Knokploeg Roermond (Roermonder Kommandogruppe) aufgefordert wurden. Sie verlegten ihr Einsatzgebiet im Januar 1944& …
Wand: links, Zeile 28-02
Guelen,
Johan
∗ 1918-10-01
Gennep
† 1944-09-08
Kamp Vught
Gennep - K.P. - Glockenspiel - Johannes Hendrikus Guelen war Maschinist und Arbeiter in einer Papierfabrik. Er gehörte der Sabotagegruppe KP-Noord Limburg (KP Gennep und Oeffelt) an. Siehe auch Jan Hendriks. Verhaftet bei einer Schießerei mit der Polizei. Guelen und die  …
Wand: links, Zeile 10-03
Hekking,
Henri A.
Hens
∗ 1923-09-21
† 1945-04-16
Nijmegen - L.O. - K.P. - - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Henny Hekking war Mitglied der Knokploeg (Kampfgruppe) in Nijmegen, zusammen mit u.a. seinen Freunden Jules Moormann, George Muskens und Eddy  …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Hendriks,
Hendrikus Fredericus
Hein /Harrie
∗ 1920-02-20
Gennep
† 1944-09-08
Vught
Gennep - K.P. - Lederbearbeiter. Er und sein Bruder Jan gehörten zur Sabotagegruppe KP-Noord Limburg (KP Gennep & Oeffelt) an. Diese Widerstandsgruppe ging u.A. gegen Schwarzmarkthändler vor. Die Brüder und  …
Wand: links, Zeile 11-01
Hendriks,
Jan J.
∗ 1915-07-21
Gennep
† 1944-09-08
Vught
Gennep - K.P. - Typograaf. Er gehörte der Sabotagegruppe KP-Noord Limburg (KP Gennep & Oeffelt) an. Die Widerstandsgruppe ging u.A. gegen Schwarzmarkthändler vor. Verhaftet bei einer Schießerei mit der Polizei. Jan Hendriks, sein Bruder Hein /Harry und &nbs …
Wand: links, Zeile 10-04
Henssen,
Frans J.
∗ 1918-12-11
Simpelveld
† 1944-08-08
Simpelveld
Simpelveld - K.P. - Frans Henssen war schon früh Vollwaise. Er war Maschinenschlosser, während des Einmarsches der deutschen Armee diente er bei einer Flakbatterie. Während des Krieges heiratete er Anny Schmetz. Das Paar bekam 1941 ihren Sohn Wen, der als zweiten Taufnamen den Vornamen des amerikanischen … …
Wand: rechts, Zeile 17-02
Hoebers,
Peter
∗ 1920-07-09
Helden
† 1944-08-10
Helden
Helden - K.P. - Peter Johannes Jacobus Hoebers war Hufschmied.
„Am frühen Donnerstagmorgen des 10. August warf Nitsch, unterstützt von vier Angehörigen der Ordnungspolizei, Peter Hoebers und Peter&nb …
Wand: links, Zeile 20-04
Janssen,
Cor
∗ 1918-02-22
Sevenum
† 1944-10-07
Beesel
Beesel - L.O. - K.P. - Presse - Untergetaucht - Cor Janssen war Landwirt. [1#2]
Im Frühjahr 1944 wurde von B. Verstappen eine Kampfgruppe (K.P.) Reuver gegründet. Mitglieder waren außerdem J.H. Goossens, Cor Janssen, M.J. Pereira, ein< …
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Wand: links, Zeile 02-05
Knottenbelt,
Franciscus Hendrikus Gerhardus Maria
Frans
∗ 1921-08-04
Enschede
† 1944-07-09
Boven-Leeuwen
L.O. - K.P. - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Der stellvertretende Betriebsleiter [2] Frans Knottenbelt wurde in der Nacht vom 8. auf den 9. Juli 1944 bei einem Feuergefecht mit Landwächtern (Übersetzt: Feldhüter, eine Hilfspolizei, die aus niederländischen Nazis bestand.) [4] in der Nähe von Leeuwen [1] getötet. In einem Leserbrief an …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Kuerten,
Antonius Johannes
Joop
∗ 1919-06-29
Nijmegen
† 1944-07-21
Vught
Nijmegen - K.P. - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Antonius Johannes Kürten war Maschinenschlosser [4]. Verhaftet am 21. Februar 1945 in Hoorn durch die Landwacht während eines Lebensmitteltransports. [1]
Über Joop Kuerten lesen wir auf Oorlogsdoden Nijmegen 1940 - 1945 [2]

Obwohl Kuerten, Sohn von Josephus&nbs …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.

Lemson,
Henk
∗ 1924-04-15
Maastricht
† 1945-04-07
Makkum
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - K.P. - Gruppe Dresen - Untergetaucht - Hendrik Th. Lemson war Beamter für direkte Steuern und gehörte zur Belastinggroep Maastricht (Steuergruppe M., die die Arbeit der Gruppe Dresen nach deren Zerschlagung fortsetzte). Er musste untertauchen und tat das in Makkum (Friesland), wo er sich der Kampfgruppe KP-Sneek, Gruppe III,& …
Wand: links, Zeile 32-04
Linders,
Franciscus Gerardus Pierre
Frans
∗ 1918-05-03
Venlo
† 1944-09-12
Eindhoven
Geleen - K.P. - Polizei - Pierre war Polizist in Geleen. Anfang 1944 wurde er nach Eindhoven versetzt, wo er sich einer Widerstandsgruppe anschloss, die unter anderem Waffen für den Untergrund transportierte, der Partizanen Actie Nederland. Sein Widerstandsname war Frans. Am 12. September 1944 wurde er bei einer&n …
Wand: links, Zeile 09-04
Merlijn,
Pieter L.
Leij
∗ 1920-12-31
Ede
† 1945-03-12
Amsterdam
Nijmegen - K.P. - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Pieter war Maschinenschlosser [6] und Mitglied der Knokploeg (Kampfgruppe) in Nijmegen. Er beteiligte sich an Überfällen auf Zuteilungsämter, an Versuchen, gefangene Widerstandskämpfer zu befreien, usw. Nach der Befreiung von Nijmegen verlagerte er seinen Einsatzschwerpunkt in den noch besetzten …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Meulenberg,
Edmundus Johannes
Eddy
∗ 1919-01-26
Nijmegen
† 1945-07-04
Nijmegen
NL Soldat - früher Widerstand - L.O. - K.P. - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Eddy Meulenberg war zum Zeitpunkt der Kapitulation der niederländischen Armee im Mai 1940 wehrpflichtiger Feldwebel. Er war Mitglied des Nimwegener Knokploeg (Kampfgruppe), unter anderem zusammen mit seinen Freunden Jules Moormann,

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Mooren,
Antonius Lodewijk Joseph
Toon
∗ 1923-03-19
Vierlingsbeek
† 1945-03-05
Mauthausen
L.O. - K.P. - Untergetaucht - Der Außenrand von Limburg - LO-Vierlingsbeek. Auch: KP. Verhaftet am 5.12.44 in Venlo, bei einer Razzia an seiner Untertauchadresse.“ (Het grote gebod, S. 327) Eine ausführliche Geschichte über Toon auf oorlogsgravenstichting.nl, Quelle: Dorpsraad Vierlingsbeek: „Pap, wat zijn dat voor doden“ (Papa, was< …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.03-04
Moormann,
Julius Ferdinand
Jules
∗ 1924-04-12
Nijmegen
† 1944-05-17
??
Nijmegen - K.P. - Student*in - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Bei einem gescheiterten Liquidationsversuch am 14. April 1944 wurde Julius Ferdinand Moormann verhaftet und George Muskens getötet. [1]
Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl schreibt [4]:

Der Student Moormann, Sohn des HBS-Direktors

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.

Muskens,
George
Arts
∗ 1923-07-02
Maastricht
† 1944-04-14
Arnhem
Maastricht - Nijmegen - K.P. - Student*in - George Muskens (Gregorius Johannes Arnoldus Maria Muskens) war Bildhauer in der Ausbildung. Er war Mitglied der Nimwegener Knokploeg (Kampftruppe) [1][3]. Bei einem gescheiterten Liquidierungsversuch am 14. April 1944 wurde Muskens getötet und Moormann verhaftet. Zitat oorlogsgravenstichting.nl& …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Nieskens,
Hendrik Johan Marie
Harrie
∗ 1924-10-11
Kessel (L)
† 1944-12-30
Weert
Kessel - K.P. - Harrie war Mitglied der B.S. (Binnenlandse Strijdkrachten = Inlandsstreitkräfte, ein am 5. September 1944 offiziell gegründetes Bündnis der drei wichtigsten  …
Wand: links, Zeile 26-03
Reichert,
Franciscus P.
Vrijn
∗ 1873-08-29
Delft
† 1944-09-14
Nijmegen
Nijmegen - L.O. - K.P. - - Presse - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Händler von Beruf und Kurier für die LO-KP aus Überzeugung. Auch Vrij Nederland [1]. Am 14. September 1944 wurde er in seinem Haus auf Grund seiner Arbeit für V.N. erschossen [3].
Auf oorlogsdodennijmegen.nl [4] ist Folgendes zu lesen:

Frans Reichert, verheiratet …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.

Reulen,
Albert
Bèr
∗ 1916-11-12
Roermond
† 1944-06-10
Overveen
Roermond - L.O. - K.P. - Ordedienst - Metzger, Fabrikarbeiter und beteiligt an den Widerstandsgruppen Ordedienst (OD), Landelijke Organisatie voor Hulp aan Onderduikers (LO) sowie den KPs (knokploegen, Kampfgruppen) von Roermond und Alkmaar. Reulen und J.P.H. Frencken&n …
Wand: rechts, Zeile 10-01
Rooyackers /Rooijackers,
Wim A.
∗ 1918-03-13
Heerlen
† 1944-09-05
Vught
Heerlen - früher Widerstand - K.P. - Presse - Polizei - Wilhelmus Antonius (Wim) Rooijackers war Handelskorrespondent und Mitglied der Grubenpolizei. Schon in den ersten Kriegsjahren kümmerte er sich um Kriegsgefangene, die aus Deutschland geflohen waren. (Cammaert III, S. 217) und war an einem gescheiterten Attentatsversuch beteiligt (Cammaert IV, S.< …
Wand: links, Zeile 17-03
Sambeek, van
Cornelis
Kees van Maas en Waal
∗ 1921-11-03
Nijmegen
† 1945-04-04
Gemen
L.O. - K.P. - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Kees war in Nijmegen zur Schule gegangen und hatte dort Kontakte zu Widerstandsleuten. Im Gebiet der Flüsse Maas und Waal, westlich von Nijmegen, gab es lokale und individuelle Widerstandsaktivitäten. Aber der Beitritt zu einer nationalen Organisation stand weiterhin aus. Im Januar 1944 wurde …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.03-16
Schaik, van
Jan H.
∗ 1922-04-10
Utrecht
† 1944-07-09
Boven-Leeuwen
L.O. - K.P. - Student*in - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Student (Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl [5]) und Maschinenschlosser (Ehrenliste der Gefallenen [1]). Starb in der Nacht vom 8. auf den 9. Juli 1944 in einem Feuergefecht mit Landwächtern [7] bei Leeuwen [4]. In einem Leserbrief an das Veluwsch Dagblad [2] berichteten Widerstandskameraden, dass Van&nb …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Schiphorst,
Tom
∗ 1923-01-01
Heerlen
† 1945-03-09
Mauthausen
Heerlen - Nijmegen - L.O. - K.P. - Presse - Student*in - Schüler an der MTS (technische Sekundarschule), wohnhaft in Nijmegen. Er kümmerte sich um Untergetauchte und verteilte illegale Zeitschriften. Er versteckte auch einen amerikanischen Piloten. Gehörte zur LO-Maas en Waal. Am 1. August 1944 wurde er verhaftet und am 9. März 1945 starb er im KZ& …
Wand: links, Zeile 18-01
Schortinghuis,
Jacobus Reinder
Bob (van de recherche)
∗ 1923-02-14
Delfzijl
† 1945-04-25
Hedel
Nijmegen - NL Soldat - K.P. - Student*in - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Koos Schortinghuis war Mitglied der Knokploeg (bewaffnete Gruppe) von Nimwegen [1] und konnte als solcher nach der Befreiung von Nimwegen der niederländischen Armee beitreten. Er starb als Mitglied der Prinses Irene Brigade [2][7]. Rang: Soldat OVW (Oorlogsvrijwilliger = Kriegsfreiwilliger).
Auf …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Spillenaar Bilgen,
Marinus
∗ 1892-10-25
Salatiga, NOI
† 1944-09-04
Vught
Nijmegen - L.O. - K.P. - Presse - Der Außenrand von Limburg - Der Apothekersohn Marinus Spillenaar Bilgen lieferte als Direktor der Papierfabrik Gelderland in Nijmegen große Mengen Papier an Untergrundzeitungen wie Trouw [2][5] und sammelte Geld für die NSF (Nationaal Steun Fonds, Nationaler Unterstützungskasse [1], finanzierte den Widerstand). Er war auch< …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.
Ummels,
Anton Hubert
∗ 1894-07-15
Amby
† 1944-08-30
Belfeld
Beesel - Reuver - L.O. - K.P. - Polizei - Antonius Hubertus Ummels hatte bei der Polizei den Dienstgrad Opperwachtmeester, der im allgemeinen mit der Funktion von Dienststellenleiter verbunden war. Er gehörte der LO in Reuver an, außerdem ihre Kampfgruppe KP.
Bei Cammaert (Kapitel VIb, S.589 [1]) heißt es: „Ein  …
Wand: links, Zeile 03-02
Verstappen,
Bernardus Petrus Lambertus
Ben
∗ 1914-04-23
Reuver
† 1944-08-30
Belfeld
Beesel - K.P. - Im Frühjahr 1944 hatte Ben Verstappen, 30 Jahre alt, Kaufmann, wohnhaft am Keulscheweg 597 in Reuver, eine K.P. (Kampfgruppe) gegründet, die der übergeordneten K.P.-Noord-Limburg unter der Leitung von H.J.H. Bouten aus Velden angeschlossen war. Neben Verstappen gehörten dazu &nb …
Wand: links, Zeile 03-03
Verstrijden,
Ludovicus Franciscus
Loek
∗ 1918-11-11
Amsterdam
† 1942-05-11
Oranienburg
früher Widerstand - K.P. - OD-Proces - Loek Verstrijden war Assistent-Einkäufer [1][4] und Handelskorrespondent. Mitorganisator der Knokploeg (Kampfgruppe) rund Theo Dobbe. Diese Widerstandsgruppe der ersten Stunde, die auch eng mit dem Ordnungsdienst (OD) zusammenarbeitete, war für …

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.-
Vries, de
Douwe
Hans
∗ 1920-03-17
Zevenhuizen
† 1947-09-13
Haulerwijk
Echt - L.O. - K.P. - Polizei - Douwe de Vries war Polizist, er gehörte dem LO und der KP in Echt an. Starb nach der Befreiung unter anderem an den Folgen seiner Widerstandsarbeit. [1]
In der Gemeinde Ooststellingwerf, in der er nach dem Krieg starb, war er Strohhändler. [2]
Dort ist auch sein Grab. [3]
Wissen Sie mehr? Schreiben Sie uns!

Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.03-12