Hendrik Jacob Vullinghs <i>(Henri)</i>
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback

All the fallen resistance people in Limburg

previousbacknext
 

Hendrik Jacob Vullinghs (Henri)


 1883-09-14 Sevenum      1945-04-09 Bergen-Belsen (61)
- Grubbenvorst - Zwarte Plak - initial resistance - L.O. - priest -



Het Grote Gebod – L.O.

    Catholic parish priest of Grubbenvorst and building parish priest in Grashoek, studied musicology in Italy and the United States. He was known as a very open-minded and culturally enthusiastic person. Already during 1941 and 1942, he began to help Jews in collaboration with the Amsterdam journalist and social democrat Mathieu Smedts [1], a native of the Peel village Grashoek, and his vicar Jean Slots. An escape route was established from Amsterdam to Switzerland and hiding places were found in northern Limburg. Even after the arrest of Smedts (who survived the camps), contact with the Social Democratic group in Amsterdam was maintained. (Cammaert V, p.423 [2]).
    After the founding of the LO in 1943, Vullinghs and his group also joined. He led the local group together with H. Joosten. On May 1, 1944, Vullinghs was arrested on the street in front of the church.
    The police chief of the municipality of Weert wrote to the Dienst Identificatie en Berging (Identification and recovering service) on November 16, 1950: After his arrest by the Germans he was respectively in Maastricht, Vught, Oranienburg and Belsen, where he died on April 9, 1945. [3#5]
    About his work in the concentration camps the aforementioned Dienst Identificatie en Berging reported to the OGS: Vught: polishing Allied cartridges. In Sachsenhausen Or. in the so-called diplomatic block - no work except cleaning the shanty; he gave lectures on church music, directed a small choir. Belsen: no work. [3#9]
    According to Lou de Jong, he was one of the biggest organizers of help for pilots and people in hiding in the whole province of Limburg. The Jewish composer Hans Lachman from Berlin, who was in hiding in Grubbenvorst, wrote a Catholic requiem in honor of Father Vullinghs, probably in the 1950s. [4]

    1. Mathieu Smedts, Wikipedia • NederlandsDeutsch
    2. Dr. F. Cammaert, Het Verborgen FrontV. Hulpverlening aan joden
    3. Archief Oorlogsgravenstichting, Dossier Henri Vullinghs • #5#9
    4. Heinz Adolf Lachman Van Limburg Requiem
    5. Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl
    6. https://www.4en5mei.nl/oorlogsmonumenten/zoeken/1343/sevenum-monument-aan-het-julianaplantsoen
    7. Wikipedia NL: Henri Vullinghs

    wall: left, row 11 #03

Hendrik Jacob Vullinghs (Henri)
text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
Hendrik Jacob Vullinghs steht im Widerstandsdenkmal der Provinz Limburg auf der
linken Wand, Zeile 11 #03

Limburg 1940-1945,
Hauptmenü

  1. Menschen
  2. Ereignisse/ Hintergründe
  3. Widerstandsgruppen
  4. Städte und Dörfer
  5. Konzentrationslager
  6. Valkenburg 1940-1945
  7. Lehren aus dem Widerstand

Alle Gefallenen des Limburger Widerstandes

vorigesbacknächstes
 

Hendrik Jacob Vullinghs (Henri)


 14-09-1883 Sevenum      09-04-1945 Bergen-Belsen (61)
- Früher Widerstand - Untergetauchtenhilfe L.O. - Hilfe an Juden - Zwarte Plak - Grubbenvorst - Die Geistlichen -



Het Grote Gebod – L.O.

    Katholischer Pfarrer von Grubbenvorst und Baupfarrer in Grashoek, studierte Musikwissenschaft in Italien und Amerika. Er war als sehr aufgeschlossener und kulturbegeisterter Mensch bekannt. Bereits im Laufe der Jahre 1941 und 1942 begann er in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Amsterdamer Journalisten und Sozialdemokraten Mathieu Smedts [1], gebürtig aus dem Peeldorf Grashoek, und seinem Kaplan Jean Slots, Juden zu helfen. Es wurde eine Fluchtroute von Amsterdam in die Schweiz eingerichtet und es wurden Verstecke in Nordlimburg gefunden. Auch nach der Verhaftung von Smedts (der die Lager überlebte) blieb der Kontakt mit der sozialdemokratischen Gruppe in Amsterdam erhalten. (Cammaert V, S.423 [2]).
    Nach der Gründung der LO im Jahr 1943 schlossen sich auch Vullinghs und seine Gruppe an. Er leitete die lokale Gruppe zusammen mit H. Joosten. Am 1. Mai 1944 wurde Vullinghs auf der Straße vor der Kirche verhaftet.
    Der Polizeipräsident der Gemeinde Weert schrieb am 16. November 1950 an den Dienst Identificatie en Berging (Dienst Identifizierung und Bergung): Nach seiner Gefangennahme durch die Deutschen war er jeweils in Maastricht, Vught, Oranienburg bzw. Belsen, wo er am 9. April 1945 starb. [3#5]
    Über seine Arbeit in den KZs berichtet der bereits erwähnte Dienst Identificatie en BergingVught: Polieren von alliierten Patronen. In Sachsenhausen Or. im sog. Diplomatenblock - keine Arbeit außer Saubermachen der Baracke; er hielt Vorträge über Kirchenmusik, leitete einen kleinen Chor. Belsen: keine Arbeit. [3#9]
    Lou de Jong zufolge war er einer der größten Organisatoren von Hilfe für Piloten und Untergetauchte in der gesamten Provinz Limburg. Der jüdische Komponist Hans Lachman aus Berlin, der in Grubbenvorst untergetaucht war, schrieb ein katholisches Requiem zu Ehren von Pfarrer Vullinghs, wahrscheinlich in den 1950er Jahren. [4]

    Fußnoten

    1. Mathieu Smedts, Wikipedia • NederlandsDeutsch
    2. Dr. F. Cammaert, Het Verborgen FrontV. Hulpverlening aan joden
    3. Archief Oorlogsgravenstichting, Dossier Henri Vullinghs • #5#9
    4. Heinz Adolf Lachman Van Limburg Requiem
    5. Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl
    6. https://www.4en5mei.nl/oorlogsmonumenten/zoeken/1343/sevenum-monument-aan-het-julianaplantsoen
    7. Wikipedia NL: Henri Vullinghs