Pieter L. Merlijn <i>(Leij)</i>
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback

All the fallen resistance people in Limburg

previousbacknext

Pieter L. Merlijn (Leij)


 1920-12-31 Ede      1945-03-12 Amsterdam (24)
- Nijmegen - Knokploeg - The outskirts of Limburg -

de-landelijke-knokploegen/limburg

Het Grote Gebod – K.P.

    Pieter was a machine fitter [6] and he was a member of the Knokploeg (combat group) in Nijmegen. He participated in raids on distribution offices, in attempts to liberate imprisoned resistance fighters, etc. After the liberation of Nijmegen, he shifted his operational focus to the still occupied western part of the country [1]. Arrested on February 21, 1945 in Hoorn by members of the Landwacht (translated: rural guards, an auxiliary police composed of Dutch fascists) [5], during a food transport [1][2]. The description of the monument "De Gevallen Hoornblazer" [3] in Amsterdam states the following: It

    is a tribute to the 30 political prisoners who were executed here on March 12, 1945, in retaliation by the occupying forces.
    On March 10, 1945, the SD (Security Service) raided a building on the Stadhouderskade in Amsterdam. This was the headquarters of Groep 2000 [7], a resistance group founded by Jacoba van Tongeren. All members of the group had a code number, which was entered in an encrypted register. The key to the register was buried in the garden of the building. To prevent the occupiers from finding the key, some members of the resistance broke into the building on March 11, 1945. A firefight ensued, during which SS-Hauptscharführer Ernst Wehner (Kriminaloberassistent of the Einsatzkommando Amsterdam) was killed.
    In retaliation, the next day 30 prisoners were taken from the prison to the park "Eerste Weteringplantsoen", located opposite the building. The prisoners were executed with three volleys in front of hundreds of Amsterdam citizens who were forced to watch by the occupiers. The clergyman Dr. J. Koopman, who lived on Stadhouderskade, was also shot as he watched from his house. The remains had to stay there as a warning for a long time before they were taken away on an open truck.

    On December 31, 2014, his ashes were scattered at the cemetery Mausoleum op de Paasberg in Ede. [4]

    1. https://www.oorlogsdodennijmegen.nl/persoon/merlijn/d8615d02-4921-4c3b-b858-549cebbdfe1b
    2. Het Grote Gebod, 1/2, De landelijke knokploegen, Kampen 1951, p. 590
    3. Monument De Gevallen Hoornblazer Amsterdam
    4. Mausoleum op de Paasberg, Ede
    5. Wikipedia NL: Nederlandse Landwacht
    6. Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl
    7. Wikipedia NL: Groep 2000
    This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.

Pieter L. Merlijn <i>(Leij)</i>
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück

Alle Gefallenen des Limburger Widerstandes

vorigesbacknächstes
 

Pieter L. Merlijn (Leij)


 1920-12-31 Ede      1945-03-12 Amsterdam (24)
- Nijmegen - Knokploeg - Der Außenrand von Limburg -

de-landelijke-knokploegen/limburg

Het Grote Gebod – K.P.

    Pieter war Maschinenschlosser [6] und Mitglied der Knokploeg (Kampfgruppe) in Nijmegen. Er beteiligte sich an Überfällen auf Zuteilungsämter, an Versuchen, gefangene Widerstandskämpfer zu befreien, usw. Nach der Befreiung von Nijmegen verlagerte er seinen Einsatzschwerpunkt in den noch besetzten Westen des Landes [1]. Verhaftung am 21. Februar 1945 in Hoorn durch Landwächter (Übersetzt: Feldhüter, eine Hilfspolizei, die aus niederländischen Nazis bestand.) [5], bei einem Lebensmitteltransport [1][2]. In der Beschreibung des Denkmals „De Gevallen Hoornblazer“ [3] in Amsterdam steht Folgendes: Es

    ist eine Hommage an die 30 politischen Gefangenen, die hier am 12. März 1945 als Vergeltungsmaßnahme der Besatzungsmacht hingerichtet wurden.
    Am 10. März 1945 führte der Sicherheitsdienst eine Razzia in einem Gebäude an der Stadhouderskade in Amsterdam durch. Dies war die Zentrale der Groep 2000 [7], einer Widerstandsgruppe, die von Jacoba van Tongeren gegründet wurde. Alle Mitglieder der Gruppe hatten eine Codenummer, die in ein Register eingetragen wurde. Der „Schlüssel“ zum Register war im Garten des Gebäudes vergraben. Um zu verhindern, dass die Besatzer den Schlüssel finden würden, brachen einige Mitglieder des Widerstands am 11. März 1945 in das Gebäude ein. Es kam zu einem Feuergefecht, bei dem SS-Hauptscharführer Ernst Wehner (Kriminaloberassistent des Einsatzkommandos Amsterdam) getötet wurde.
    Als Vergeltungsmaßnahme wurden am nächsten Tag 30 Gefangene vom Gefängnis in den Park „Eerste Weteringplantsoen“ gebracht, gegenüber dem Gebäude. Die Gefangenen wurden vor den Augen Hunderter Amsterdamer Bürger, die von den Besatzern zum Zuschauen gezwungen wurden, mit drei Salven hingerichtet. Der Geistliche Dr. J. Koopman, der an der Stadhouderskade wohnte und von seinem Haus aus zusah, wurde ebenfalls erschossen. Die sterblichen Überreste blieben lange Zeit als Warnung zurück, bevor sie auf einem offenen Lastwagen abtransportiert wurden.

    Am 31. Dezember 2014 wurde seine Asche auf dem Friedhof Mausoleum op de Paasberg in Ede verstreut. [4]

    1. https://www.oorlogsdodennijmegen.nl/persoon/merlijn/d8615d02-4921-4c3b-b858-549cebbdfe1b
    2. Het Grote Gebod, 1/2, De landelijke knokploegen, Kampen 1951, p. 590
    3. Monument De Gevallen Hoornblazer Amsterdam
    4. Mausoleum op de Paasberg, Ede
    5. Wikipedia NL: Nederlandse Landwacht
    6. Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl
    7. Wikipedia NL: Groep 2000

    Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.