MenuCoen Grotaers - one among the many text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in EnglishCette page en Français
top


World War II: The Resistance of Pierre Schunck and his People
Sources :


Under this a story follows as there have been thousands. Many of them have been forgotten. It was sent to me from Australia by somebody whose father was in the valkenburg resistance, too. It reminds us of the innumerable people who have shown commitment for the many small but also big daily underground activities. Sometimes something goes wrong. Particularly on these occasions they risked their lifes.


1932, Bronsdalgroeve

March 25th, 1932. The limestone caves Bronsdalgroeve and the Vlaberg on Geulweg, Meerssen-Geulhem. In this subterranean part of the limestone quarry the provisional hostel for people to hide (“divers inn”) was located during the war.
The youngest sister (Carla) of Pierre Schunck told that once their father Peter, the owner of the quarry and the cave, should guide a group of Germans through the enterprise. He knew about the divers inn. When the Germans wanted to visit the cave too, he struck with a stick a few pieces of limestone from the ceiling and said, “We can not go on here, because of the risk of collapse!”
Suddenly the Germans wanted to get out and never came back again.
Source of the picture: Historisch Centrum Limburg (HCL)


The following story needs a little explanation.

  • It was sent to me from Australia by a son of Coen Grotaers, see below, who was involved in the resistance in the limestone quarry too.
  • There were two limestone quarries in Geulhem at the Geul near the Meerssenerbroek at that time. One of them was property of Peter Schunck, the father of Pierre Schunck. One part of it was a far branched cave system. There the diver’s inn was installed. The other quarry belonged to the Wim Curfs mentioned below.
  • It presumably was in the following history about „Ausweise“ (ID cards) which had been looted at the raid on the distribution office in Valkenburg. Let’s hope that after that accident somebody went once again with new cards to Kaldenkirchen.
  • The methane gas of which he writes, was no wood gas, although only the german army (Wehrmacht) had gasoline. The wood carburettors to produce it were not harmless. A small factory was attached on the tail or on the roof of the vehicle. There the wood was heated up. Wood gas and tar were among others the results. So one didn’t tank but one put some new logs on. Usually one loaded the system, when it was cold. But during a long journey, when the system was hot (because otherwise it wouldn’t work) it could catch fire. But this is not what happened here, writes the son of Coen Grotaers. His father drove a truck powered by methane gas from the factory. Probably a product from the coke oven at the pit.
  • This mail shows too, that there were contacts with German resistance groups.
  • For a better understanding of this story, you should read also the part of the interviews with Pierre schunck, in which he tells about the resistance activities in the Duikherberg.

Open Street Map Click on the map for an enlargement (Open Street Map).

Hi, to whom it may concern.
My name is Victor Grotaers and I live in Australia, north-east of Melbourne.

My Father (Coen Grotaers) was part of the group in the Dölkesberrig (Duikherberg) in Geulhem and also worked for Peter Schunck in the mergel-groeve where he operated the steam powered drag-line crane from about 1943 till about 1946, which was used to mine the mergel and load it onto trucks. (This dragline had a 2 cubic meter bucket and I know it was steam powered because I used to go with him sometimes and would have to sit on one of those large brick-shaped compressed coals that went into the boiler!)

I have seen some accounts of the resistance movement on the Internet and recognised a lot of names from their accounts of what our parents had done during their activities in the movement.
Both my parents were involved in the resistance movement. My mother used to also cook meals for the „onderduikers“ and hide these in a false bottom in my pram. Myself and my younger brother Peter were the decoys! (I was born in 1942) (We used to live in the first house up the top of the Bronsdalweg in Berg en Terbijt)
On one occasion my Father was driving a truck (I don’t know if it belonged to Schunck or Wim Curfs). He had to go to Kaldenkirchen in Germany with 172 false "Ausweisen" to get people out of that concentration camp. The truck ran on Methane gas. After filling the truck in Sittard something went wrong and the truck severely caught fire, Dad was badly burned but survived. This happened on the 15th March 1944 the day before my brother Peter was born.
My Father died here in Australia in 1979.
I would love to know if there is any records and photo’s in the archives that corroborate our parent’s involvement in the resistance movement.

Many Thanks, Victor Grotaers


Remark: Do you have any information on the Grotaers family? Please get in touch with me, I then will pass it on.

Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück

Hierunter folgt eine Geschichte, wie es tausende gegeben hat. Viele sind nicht erhalten. Sie wurde mir aus Australien geschickt, von jemandem dessen Vater auch im valkenburger Widerstand war. Sie erinnert uns an die unzähligen Menschen, die sich jeden Tag eingesetzt haben für die vielen kleinen aber auch großen Untergrundtätigkeiten. Manchmal geht auch schon mal etwas schief. Gerade dann riskierten sie ihr Leben.


1932, Bronsdalgroeve

Die Kalksteinhöhlen Bronsdalgroeve und der Vlaberg am Geulweg, 25. März 1932, Meerssen-Geulhem. In diesem stillgelegten unterirdischen Teil der Kalksteinbrüche wurde gegen Ende des Krieges für die Luftwaffe eine Werkstatt zur Überholung von Flugzeugmotoren eingerichtet. In der Nähe befand sich die „Taucherherberge“.
Die jüngste Schwester (Carla) von Pierre Schunck hat einmal erzählt, dass ihr Vater Peter, der Besitzer des Steinbruchs, einmal eine Gruppe von deutschen Offizieren durch den Betrieb führen sollte. Er wusste über die Taucherherberge ungefähr Bescheid. Als die Deutschen auch die Höhle besichtigen wollten, stieß er mit einem Stock ein paar lose Brocken Kalkstein von der Decke und sagte: „Wir können hier nicht weitergehen, wegen Einsturzgefahr!“
Die Deutschen wollten ganz schnell wieder nach draußen und sind nie wieder gekommen.
Bildquelle: Historisch Centrum Limburg (HCL)


Die untenstehende Geschichte braucht ein wenig Erläuterung.

  • Sie wurde mir aus Australien zugeschickt von einem Sohn des Coen Grotaers, von dem hier die Rede ist.
  • Zu dieser Zeit gab es in Geulhem zwei Kalksteinbrüche entlang der Göhl, am Meerssenerbroek. Eine davon war Eigentum von Peter Schunck, dem Vater von Pierre Schunck. Sie war teilweise ein weit verzweigtes Höhlensystem. Darin war eine Tauchherberge eingerichtet. Der andere Steinbruch gehörte dem unten erwähnten Wim Curfs.
  • Vermutlich ging es in der untenstehenden Geschichte um Ausweise, die beim Überfall auf das Zuteilungsamt in Valkenburg erbeutet worden waren. Wir dürfen hoffen, dass nach jenem Unfall noch einmal jemand mit neuen Ausweisen nach Kaldenkirchen gegangen ist.
  • Das Methangas, von dem hier die Rede ist, war kein Holzgas. Nur die Wehrmacht verfügte über Benzin. Nur die Wehrmacht hatte Benzin, daher hatten eine Menge Leute Holzgasgeneratoren auf dem Auto. Die waren nicht ungefährlich. Es war eine kleine Fabrik, auf dem Heck oder auf dem Dach, in dem das Holz beheizt wurde. Dabei entstand Holzgas und Teer. Man tankte also nicht, sondern packte neues Holz rein. Normalerweise war die Anlage dann kalt, aber während einer langen Fahrt, wenn die Anlage also heiß war (sonst funktionierte sie ja nicht) könnte die Flamme in die Pfanne schlagen. Aber das ist hier nicht passiert, schreibt der Sohn von Coen Grotaers. Sein Vater fuhr einen LKW, der von Methangas aus der Fabrik angetrieben wurde. Vermutlich also ein Produkt aus der Kokerei auf der „Kull“.
  • Aus der Mail geht hervor, dass es auch Kontakte mit Deutschen Widerstandsgruppen gab.

Open Street Map Klick auf die Karte für eine Vergrösserung (Open Street Map).

Hi, to whom it may concern.
My name is Victor Grotaers and I live in Australia, north-east of Melbourne.

Mein Vater (Coen Grotaers) war Teil der Widerstandsgruppe im Dölkesberrig (Dohlenberg) (Tauchherberg) in Geulhem und arbeitete auch für Peter Schunck im Mergelsteinbruch, wo er von etwa 1943 bis etwa 1946 den von Dampf angetriebenen Schürfkübelbagger bediente, mit dem der Mergelkalkstein abgebaut und auf Lastwagen geladen wurde. (Dieser Seilbagger hatte einen Schürfkübel von 2 Kubikmeter und ich weiß, dass er von Dampf angetrieben wurde, weil ich manchmal mit ihm mitgegangen bin, und dann musste ich auf einem jener ziegelförmigen Riesenbriketts sitzen, die in den Ofen gingen!)

Ich habe einige Berichte über die Widerstandsbewegung im Internet gesehen und viele Namen wieder erkannt aus den Berichten unserer Eltern über was sie während ihrer Aktivitäten in der Bewegung getan hatten.
Meine Eltern waren beide an der Widerstandsbewegung beteiligt. Meine Mutter kochte auch Mahlzeiten für die „onderduikers“ (versteckte Menschen) und sie versteckte diese unter einem falschen Boden in meinem Kinderwagen. Ich selbst und mein jüngerer Bruder Peter waren die Tarnung! (Ich wurde im Jahr 1942 geboren) (wir wohnten im ersten Haus oben am Bronsdalweg in Berg en Terbijt)
Einmal fuhr mein Vater einen Lastwagen (ich weiß nicht, ob er Schunck oder Wim Curfs gehörte). Er musste nach Kaldenkirchen in Deutschland mit 172 falschen Ausweisen, um Leute aus diesem Konzentrationslager heraus zu holen. Der Lastwagen fuhr auf Methangas. Nach dem Füllen des Lastwagens in Sittard, ging etwas schief und der Lastwagen ging heftig in Flammen auf, Papa wurde schwer verbrannt, aber er überlebte. Dies geschah am 15. März 1944, am Tag bevor mein Bruder Peter geboren wurde.
Mein Vater starb hier in Australien im Jahr 1979.
Ich würde gerne wissen, ob es Aufzeichnungen und Photos in den Archiven gibt, die die Beteiligung unserer Eltern an der Widerstandsbewegung bestätigen.

Many Thanks, Victor Grotaers

Anmerkung: Wer Informationen über das Ehepaar Grotaers hat, melde sich bitte bei mir, ich leite das dann weiter.