MenuThe Forgotten Holocaust text, no JavaScript Log in   Deze pagina in het Nederlands Diese Seite auf DeutschThis page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback

Roger Moreno Rathgeb, composer of the Requiem for Auschwitz, before he lit a candle during the memorial service “Valkenburg liberated 75 years ago” remembered us of:

The Forgotten Holocaust

How many members of a people have to be killed until they are granted the status of victims of a genocide, or in the case of World War II of victims of the Holocaust? Hundred thousand? Five hundred thousand? A million?
It is estimated that during World War II between five hundred thousand and one million Sinti and Roma were killed. No exact number is known, because many of these people were not registered anywhere during the persecution. Another cause lies in the fact that many of them did not die in concentration camps, but were shot and thrown into a mass grave in several countries somewhere in the countryside or in a forest.

On May 16, 1944, a large-scale raid took place throughout the Netherlands, in which 578 people were arrested and taken to camp Westerbork. Finally, 244 of them were deported to Auschwitz-Birkenau on 19 May 1944. Only 31 of them survived the war.

The Forgotten Genocide

 Settela Steinbach,
May 19th, 1944

The most famous Dutch victim was the Sinti girl Settela Steinbach from the village of Buchten in the province of Limburg, the girl with the headscarf looking out the door of a freight wagon. For a long time she was the symbol of the persecution of Jews in the Netherlands, until the journalist Aad Wagenaar discovered her true identity in 1994. It took a long time before the Sinti and Roma people were granted the status of victims of the Holocaust. For a long time they were not eligible for compensation for their stolen property because they did not have the necessary written evidence. A financial contribution only came into being in the year 2000.

The majority of the Dutch society is unaware of these facts, because in history books, documentaries and during commemorations, only the six million Jewish victims are usually mentioned. The story of the “gypsy persecution” is usually overlooked. Hence the term “The forgotten Holocaust”. Only on 4 May 2012, the genocide on the Sinti and Roma was a central item during the national commemoration of the dead for the first time since the end of World War II.

More information: The Forgotten Genocide The Fate of the Sinti and Roma

Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück

Bevor er während des Gedenkgottesdienstes "Valkenburg 75 Jahre befreit" eine Kerze anzündete, erinnerte uns Roger Moreno Rathgeb, Komponist von Requiem für Auschwitz, an:

Der vergessene Holocaust

Wie viele Angehörige eines Volkes müssen getötet werden, bis ihnen der Status eines Opfers eines Völkermords oder im Falle des Zweiten Weltkriegs eines Opfers des Holocaust zuerkannt wird? Hunderttausend? Fünfhunderttausend? Eine Million?
Es wird geschätzt, dass während des Zweiten Weltkriegs zwischen fünfhunderttausend und eine Million Sinti und Roma getötet wurden. Eine genaue Anzahl ist nicht bekannt, da viele dieser Personen während der Verfolgung nirgendwo registriert wurden. Eine weitere Ursache ist die Tatsache, dass viele von ihnen nicht in einem KZ starben, sondern in mehreren Ländern auf dem Land oder im Wald erschossen und in ein Massengrab geworfen wurden.

Am 16. Mai 1944 fand in den Niederlanden eine groß angelegte Razzia statt, bei der 578 Personen verhaftet und in das Lager Westerbork gebracht wurden. Schließlich wurden am 19. Mai 1944 244 von ihnen nach Auschwitz-Birkenau deportiert. Nur 31 von ihnen überlebten den Krieg.

Der vergessene Völkermord

 Settela Steinbach,
19. Mai 1944

Das bekannteste niederländische Opfer war das Sinti-Mädchen Settela Steinbach aus dem limburgischen Buchten, das Mädchen mit dem Kopftuch das aus der Tür eines Güterwagons schaute. Sie war lange Zeit das Symbol für die Judenverfolgung in den Niederlanden, bis der Journalist Aad Wagenaar 1994 ihre wahre Identität entdeckte. Es dauerte lange, bis den Sinti und Roma der Status von Opfern des Holocaust zuerkannt wurde. Sie hatten lange keinen Anspruch auf Entschädigung für ihr gestohlenes Eigentum, weil sie nicht über die erforderlichen schriftlichen Nachweise verfügten. Ein finanzieller Beitrag wurde erst im Jahr 2000 geleistet.

Die Mehrheit der niederländischen Gesellschaft ist sich dieser Tatsachen nicht bewusst, da in Geschichtsbüchern, Dokumentationen und bei Gedenkfeiern in der Regel nur die sechs Millionen jüdischen Opfer erwähnt werden. Die Geschichte der „Zigeuner“-Verfolgung wird normalerweise übersehen. Daher der Begriff „Der vergessene Holocaust“. Erst am 4. Mai 2012 war der Völkermord an Sinti und Roma zum ersten Mal seit dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs ein zentraler Punkt bei der nationalen Toten-Gedenkfeier.

Mehr Information: Der vergessene Völkermord Das Schicksal der Sinti und Roma